Market misadventure.//.Turning fabric frustration into a beautiful skirt

in NeedleWorkMonday5 months ago

IMG_4873.png

Hello, my fellow needleworker! I hope you are doing well. I'd like to share the story behind this beautiful skirt, enjoy.
One sunny Saturday in November, I headed to the market to get the materials needed for a dress for a customer. The day before, my friend called and asked me to get 8 yards of quality black tulle since she couldn't find any in her area. I told her it was no problem – after all, what are friends for?

Upon arriving, It was really hard to get a quality tulle. The available options were of low quality and the quality ones were not up to the amount of yards she wanted to buy. I called her and explained the situation, and she suggested opting for a preferred quality. Consequently, I got one that I felt the quality was decent.

sewing process

After delivering the material, she assured me she would transfer the money to my account. However, She called me later in the evening that the material was tearing that she couldn't use it and she would go and get the material herself. “So what do you want me to do” I asked. She lamented how she was going to waste her money because she had to get another material.

I dumped the material in my storage bag and around 2 weeks later, she called, complaining that her portion of the material was not up to 4 yards. Aside from not being around because I was in camp, I was not going to entertain her complaints because of her attitude. I felt upset because she overlooked my efforts to get the material for her and the stress of walking all over the market just to get a good fabric for her. I told her there was nothing I wanted to do about it and that if she wanted to exchange it with me she could but she declined

sewing process

During the new year, I did some cleaning in my storage bag and noticed the tulle sitting at the bottom of the bag. I took it out and decided to make something with it.
After brainstorming designs and endless surfing on Pinterest, I ended up making this beautiful black skirt.
So, this is the story behind this skirt, haha.



If you love to see my steps, continue reading.



cutting of the fabric
I folded the fabric into four and the length of the layers.

IMG_2908.jpeg



I cut 2 for the top layer which is 13 inches long and 3 for the middle layer which is 11 and the last layer which is also 11 inches long and I joined them together respectively.
IMG_2910.jpeg



I cut the inner skirt where I will be seeing the layer on. I cut the lining 5 inches short. The measurement for the skirt is corresponding to the measurement

the inner skirt

lining



I gathered the layers and attached them to the inner skirt starting from the last layer to the top layer

IMG_2937.jpeg

IMG_2939.jpeg



I sew the band of the skirt

IMG_3009.jpeg



I then attached the band to the skirt

IMG_3011.jpeg



I sew the lining to the skirt afterward

IMG_3017.jpeg



This is the finished look

IMG_3201.jpeg



” This is not a detailed tutorial”


———
Thanks for reading my blog and have a fabulous day ❤️


All images are mine and the thumbnail was made by Canva

Sort:  

Congratulations @rayoo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!

Good to see how you made this beautiful skirt. It shows your creativity and talent. Well done!

Thank you diyhub

Wow, @rayoo - this is a great success considering how much work and hassle went into sourcing the material (for someone else, even!): well done indeed - the final skirt looks really brilliant and I love the process descriptions you provided 😍

Wow! You sew a very beautiful skirt. Your efforts are appreciated, and especially the effort which you did for other is remarkable.
#dreemerforlife

Thank you so much

The style is fine and about your friend's behavior, I think that happens sometimes so still try to put yourself in your friend's shoe, the both of you don't know what's going on with the other so just try and let go of what she did and avoid making something like that repeat itself.

#dreemerforlife

I already let it go, but it was like I helped her then I had to take the blame for helping her, do you get?
Anyway, Thanks for your comment and I'm glad you like the skirt

Yeah I totally get that, I've had similar experience before and I know how annoying and even heartbreaking it can be. I'm glad you've let go 🥰.

It's my pleasure stopping by dear !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@hopestylist, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @rayoo and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

The market might be tricky, but you have talent! It will match perfectly with some t-shirt. I love it! 😲❤️

#dreemport #dreemerforlife

Thank you!