Crochet Cellphone Bag

in NeedleWorkMonday22 days ago

Crochet Cellphone Bag.png

I am currently working on a slightly big project. And just like any other big projects I have, I get tired of doing the same thing over and over again. I use the Pomodoro technique when I am working but there still comes a point that I get too uninspired with this big project. So I take a break from it. And the way for me to take a break from a slightly big project is to crochet a small one.

I bought a package of yarns from a fellow crocheter that was destashing 2 years ago. I got several different kinds of yarn from that lot I bought from her. Not too bad for Php200. One of the yarns I got was this powder blue I-cord. I never really knew when I was going to use the yarns but just the other day, when I was feeling uninspired, well, inspiration found me.

I made myself a cellphone bag. It was supposed to be for my daughter because more often than not, whenever I make a project, it's always for my daughter. But alas, she did not really like it. And she was really super sweet and honest in refusing. She's not used to having her phone hanging in front of her, not inside her backpack. Good thing for me, I have an extra bag for my cellphone.

Crochet Cellphone Bag2.png

I saw this design from a fellow crocheter who shared the pattern. She used polycotton, I think with hers but I used this powder blue I-cord. It was the first time I used an I-cord and now, I know that it hurts when your tension is too hard. I did not follow the pattern exactly because I was too busy watching my series while I am crocheting. I'm not really watching, I just use it as a background noise while I'm on a break.

I may have made the strap a bit too long, which I think was one of the reasons why my daughter did not want to use it. I also planned on putting a beautiful button on it but I couldn't find a button size that would look great with the crochet cellphone bag. Of course, I had to improvise.

I learned a great way to make buttons out of yarns. To make the crochet button, all you need to do is to make a magic circle. Then, single crochet either 5 or 6 times. After that, make 12 single crochets for the next row but instead of inserting it into the sc's you insert the hook for the 2nd row into the magic circle again.

Once this is done, I just need to attach the crochet button into the crochet bag. It fits perfectly with the flap that I just made. Overall, I am contented with how it looked like. I am thinking of making another one, but with an adjustable strap this time. Or maybe one that has the bag itself move around the strap, just like the one that I saw from the some girl a few months back.

Now, I am ready to go back to the semi big project I'm working on. Hopefully I can finish it before the month ends.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Your project is beautiful, I like the color and the technique! I love it!

The bag does look simple and lovely. Nice color choice too.

 21 days ago  

Nice project.
I usually do that too. When I am a little tired of a big project I move to the smaller ones.
Your bag is so cute.

They look so lovely and I love the color too. I wish I could just be as good as you in crocheting
I love it but I’m not very good at it

I also really hope to finish your semi big project you’re working on. This particular work looks so good so I know that project will look really nice.
I can’t wait to see