Crochet Christmas Decors

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Crochet Christmas Decor (4).png

September has been a rough start for me and my family. Truly, it is difficult to take care of other human beings when you yourself is needing the care too. Both my husband and I got sick and what happened to us at the start of the month tested our promise to be with each other in sickness and in health. It was amazing, actually. How our teamwork proved that we can go through anything and still come out of it stronger together.

I planned on posting about this on the first Monday of September. Afterall, here in the Philippines, we celebrate Christmas as early as September. As for me, Christmas season is my favorite season which is why I am preparing our decors as early as August. This joyous season somehow brings me joy and brings back most of my fondest childhood memories.

image.png

Back in 2018, I made quite a few Christmas decors. Looking at the designs, it's obvious that I am just starting to relearn my skills in crocheting. Even so, these crochet Christmas decors have been used for the last Christmases since 2018, 2019, last year, and for sure will be used for this year along with the new designs.

This is one of those times when I find satisfaction in knowing that I have learned a lot in the past years. I sure am a couple more steps away from where I started. It was a slow journey, and I have made quite a few disappointing projects (which I felt really shameful to share with anybody), but I know I have learned a lot over the past few years.

Crochet Christmas Decor (3).png

I mentioned earlier that I have planned on making a post about this project on the first Monday of September. I also have planned on marketing these to my friends and colleagues but my health had other plans for me so I needed to forego those plans. Although, it is still in my desire to upgrade our Christmas tree for this year. I am still contemplating on when I am going to put up our tree. It is a custom here in our country that once the -ber month starts, we start our quarter long Christmas celebration. Christmas starts as early as September and ends as late as January/early February. That's how long the consumerism for this holiday takes place. It's no wonder a lot of foreign business people likes to invest in our country. Hopefully, I finish all my pending deliverables, I will push through with my plans on selling these Christmas ornaments.

Crochet Christmas Decor (2).png

Creating these Christmas decors is really quite simple. I used acrylic yarns for this project. As usual, I put the lesson I learned about the perfect crochet circle to use with this one. I also used single crochets for this project. To make the Christmas balls, I made use of continuous stitch. This is another project that I can proudly say that I made without any patterns to follow. I literally wrote the patterns in my notebook, and I am so happy about it.

Crochet Christmas Decor (1).png

I showed my project to my mom and she absolutely loved it. I told her I would make a video tutorial for her to make her own decors. She told me she doesn't want the videos, and that she just needs me to send her one of the decors and she will copy it. I'm not even sure I could copy a project just by looking at it, but it seems that my mom learned most of her patterns before by just looking at other projects. It may be how most crocheters make their projects. It's not easy for me though. Or maybe I do not have enough patience to look at projects and try to copy it.

I'll be sending her some samples once I ship the MTO I am working on for her neighbor. I'm sure she'll make more beautiful Christmas decors.

20210422_124054.png

@romeskie is a full-time stay-at-home mom to a homeschooling toddler. Loves crocheting as a hobby. Maintains a mini food forest, aiming to grow more to achieve that farm-to-table homesteading. Learned how to cook after leaving the corporate world to take care of her family and is now starting to acquire basic baking skills. Learn more about her adventures and misadventures in the world of motherhood.
Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 3 years ago  

Thank you @ackhoo! And thank you @qurator

Hola. Excelente idea, me gustan mucho porque tengo una bebé que le encanta los árboles de navidad y agarra todo, esto lo puede agarrar y jugar sin hacerse daño ni romper nada 👍👍. Saludos

 3 years ago  

Hey, thanks for dropping by. Yes, this is also a good toy for kids. It is filled with fiber fill inside so you don't have to worry about your kid getting hurt.

😃👍😃

OMG cutieeee Christmas decors! I love that they are personalized😍😍

 3 years ago  

Thanks! Sometimes I just go along with where my thoughts bring me when I make the designs.

Spontaneity is best when making crafts, I guess. 😍😘💞

First I want to say thank you for always having so much life and feeling in your posts. I feel every time you post I get to know you and your family better and it’s always a pleasure being able to connect with you in that way.

These Christmas ornaments are beautiful! I really love the shape of these balls, so neat, and I love the different stripes you added to them.

I know what you mean about looking at projects. I did manage to do that a couple of times but for the most part I needed some kind of pattern or reference. I think it’s a pretty awesome talent for someone to have.

I’m so happy that you are making more and more of your own designs. Very impressive lady ~ 😃😍👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

So glad you and your husband are feeling better. It’s so hard taking care of others when you’re not up to par yourself. ❤️

 3 years ago  

I am naturally talkative especially when I am already comfortable with the people around me. I tend to bring that in my posts.

I don't usually feel jealous, but I kinda envy those people who would just look at a project intently, then afterwards replicate it. It is indeed a nifty talent to have.

By the way, I'd like to thank you fro dropping by and for trying to get to know me through my posts. And thank you also for everything you do for our community. I love how your efforts helped me grow as a crocheter and a blogger. And I love seeing so many newbies enjoying the same support. :)

Lol I'm the same way. Sometimes it's hard to get me to be quiet when I get comfortable :D

Of course! I’ve always enjoyed your posts since day one. Oh wow I’m delighted hearing this from you, it means a lot. It’s always been a pleasure. I’m so glad my efforts have been worthwhile. Yay!! ❤️❤️❤️

Much love ~

Your publication motivated me and filled me with crazy knitting ideas (haha). I was surprised that the Christmas season lasts so long there. In Peru at the end of October we start to hear the Christmas bells. On the other hand, how nice to find someone to team up with, thank you so much for sharing your publication! and Good vibes!.

 3 years ago  

Back when people frequent shopping malls, one could hear Christmas carols being played all over the mall. I guess they're just trying to maximize profits by toying with the shoppers' emotions. haha

Of course, magugustohan ng mamsie mo yan, ang cute kaya. ahahaha

Pero kumusta kana madam ayos naba pakiramdam mo? Nakakalasa naman?hahaha joke lang po ah..Pero seryoso kumusta naba pakiramdam nyong dalawa?

Stay safe po and healthy.

 3 years ago  

OK na ako Pau. Nakakapagluto na ako at lasang lasa ko naman ang linamnam. hahaha. Ikaw ang kamusta na? Ano'ng nangyari sayo?

Bakit tinatanong mo kung anong nangyari?na covid ba ako?hahaha

wider-wider lang kasi talaga ako kaya sorry di ako gaanong active sa discord. Medyo busy sa pagiging busy-busyhan.hahaha

mabuti kung ok kana..

Wow this is really nice 👍 thanks for sharing