Guess the WIP | The Reveal

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Happy Monday everyone! Did you have a relaxing weekend? I hope so. Because it's another week of hustle and bustle. At least a new normal version of the hustle and bustle.

Before we go ahead and reveal the final product, I'd like to thank all our participants who never ceases to drop by at my post and take the time to guess the work in progress.

@neumannsalva | @fiberfrau | @godlovermel25 | @rowee22 | @june21neneng | @olivia08

Hope to see you again on my next contests.

The Reveal

I was quite surprised to see two participants actually guessed the project right away! It is actually a soap bag!

I made three attempts at making the best design. Actually, just the best size and proportion. I stuck with a simple design.

The pattern goes like this:

22ch

Row 1:
DC on the 4th ch from the hook(FLO).
Chain 1
*Skip 1 ch, dc1(FLO) * until the last ch
(working on the other side of your foundation chain)
ch1, skip 1 ch, dc1 (BLO) repeat until you reach the first DC you made.
SL st on the 1st ch3 space

Row 2:
ch3, dc on the next ch space
ch1, dc on the next ch space (repeat until end of the first row)
sl st into the first ch3 space.

Repeat this until you reached the height of the soap bag you prefer.

For the drawstring, the first attempt, I just chained 50 or 60, inserted the chains into the slots on one row into the soap bag, sl st to close it, and that's it. I just tied a ribbon for effect.

On my second attempt, aside from making a vertical orientation size for the soap, I also chained two sets, one inserted on the 2nd row from the top, the other on the 3rd row.

On my third attempt, aside from getting the perfect proportion of height and width for the soap we are using. Then for the drawstring, I still chained two sets of 65 chains but inserted both on the third row from the top.

The Benefits of Using a Soap Bag

I am planning on selling these online. I found that there are a lot of benefits to using a Soap Bag.

  1. Its design helps in conserving soap. You know that tiny little leftover soap that you couldn't use anymore because it either won't lather anymore or it just slips from your hand? Well, with a Soap Bag, you can use up to the last lather.
  2. Exfoliation! The texture made with the crochet Soap Bag design helps in exfoliation. The material I used for this soap bag is recycled cotton which is gentle to the skin. I have been using it since I finished the first bag.
  3. If you're all for space-saving, the drawstring in the crochet soap bag helps you save space in your bathroom. Instead of using soap dishes, you can just hang it up and let it air dry.
  4. Ecofriendly. After every use, you just rinse it as usual and hang it to dry. You don't need to throw them as often, you'll just need to wash them as you would a normal washcloth and use it again.

The Winner

A big congratulations to...

@neumannsalva and @fiberfrau

I was so excited when I saw your comments, I had to take some time before replying. I might not be able to hide my excitement. LOL

You both will receive 1 Hive each. The rest of the participants will share the HBD rewards from the announcement post which I will get tomorrow.

Again, a big thank you for joining this just for fun guessing contest. I know the rewards are not that high but I hope you guys are having a good time because I am. See you again on our next Guess the WIP Contest!

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

Please like my Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter
Follow me on Instagram as well.
Don't forget to subscribe on my Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter

Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Shoutout to @jemzem for my logo. Check out her Facebook page: Jem Virtual Assistance Services for your logo needs.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Hooray! I need to make some of these to go with some lovely scented soaps I still have in boxes.

 4 years ago  

Can't wait to see your soap bags too! I think I want some scented soaps too. Gotta go add some more orders into my online carts. Lol

Congrats to both winners

 4 years ago  

YEAHHHHH We did it!!! We actually guessed right. I think it was a bit wishful thinking on my side, as I love scrubby things on my skin and a soap bag sounds very luscious. I think it would also make a lovely gift (Am I remembering wrongly but didn’t you made some soap @fiberfrau?) together with a special soap.
Thank you for this lovely puzzle, the pattern and the prize <3 <3

 4 years ago  

You're most welcome! I was really super excited when I saw both your guesses. 😁

The recycled cotton plus the texture of the pattern made a good combination for perfect exfoliation.