Superhero Crochet Mask

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

superhero crochet mask.png

Happy #needleworkmonday everyone! How was your Valentine's day? Mine was spent at home, hubby took the time to take me on a date. He ordered delicious chicken burgers, pares, iced tea, doughnuts, and cheesecake. We're taking our fasting seriously but for our stay-at-home Valentine date, he took our feast seriously too. It was fun and I loved it. I hope you all had a fun valentines day too.

My needleworkmonday project is for the most special person in our life. Our little superhero. She has been requesting a superhero costume for a while now. I actually feel terrible because I made her a cardboard superhero mask thinking that it was the quickest way to make her a superhero mask. She loves it and wears it whenever she gets the chance. I was too caught up with all the dresses I made for the previous months. Now, I still got another big project I'm working on but I wanted to take the time to make her another crochet project.

I just made a quick search on the internet and found this pattern and used it as my guide. I wanted to make her a catwoman costume but she did not want it. She just wants to be a superhero of her own, not someone else. And she is really my superhero. She talks about me like I'm her superhero that will save her every single time. There was one time she told her father about how I killed a mosquito but the way she talked about it was as if I just slayed a fire-breathing dragon. I taught her how to wash dishes just a few weeks ago and now, I have an assistant dishwasher.

I made her a superhero mask that's just the right size for her. It was a simple pattern. It started with just a total of 35 chains, then sc across for the second row. Then to make that hole for the eyes, I made some 13 or 15 chains and skipped 13 or 15 stitches on the next row. I can't really remember exactly how I did it exactly but it's around that. To make the eyes part complete, I made 18 double crochets to make those big holes for the eyes on her mask. I made chain stitches on the sides so she can tie the mask around her head when she's doing her superhero thing.

needleworkmonday 6.png

After I made the mask, she immediately wore it and did her superhero stuff. And of course, she wants to play with her favorite superheroes. That's all kids want actually. Neverending playtime. So even when there's a lot of other things to do, playtime needs to be on top of priorities. But she does make it up by helping me with the dishes, which to her is still another form of playtime. And I'm loving it.

So all in all, I had a good valentines week. To be honest, every day should be a day to show our love to our loved ones.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

Sort:  

Love it, the crocheted mask for your superhero and happy you have housechores alalay na. Congrats pala for winning doon sa YouTube pa raffles. Naalala ko pag Leftie Crocheter ikaw yon.

 3 years ago  

Beautiful that girl and her mask, I loved it ❤️.

Foods make the perfect valentine's date haha. Fasting is life but food is lifer :D

She must be really happy with her valentine's gift and neverending playtime too. My mom had a never ending sermon at home haha.

Happy Valentine's Day maam.

 3 years ago  

The crochet mask is such a good idea as it much more comfortable for a superhero to wear (and she seams to use it very often <3) And with the Valentine’s Day: we did the same, we fetched food from a nearby restaurant and it was a lovely evening.
But I envy you the doughnuts:-DDD I haven’t had them for a really long time....