My NeedleworkMonday__ DIY Paper Mache Canister Using Fabric Scraps__ by @needleworkmonday

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

IMG_20201012_035624.jpg

Hello everyone! The photo above is my presentation for today. It's sort of an all-purpose canister out of scratch papers and old notebooks. It's my unfinished task with Antonia so here it is.Since I aleady have the paper mache canester, all I need to do is finish what I;ve started.

Materials needed:

Cloth
patches
Bias Tape
Double-edged tape

IMG_20201012_014836_HHT.jpg
(Photo: Paper Mache Canister)

IMG_20201012_024300.jpg

I used my cutouts from my previous sewing. I do not throw away the cuttings especially if the fabric can still be useful for other projects.

IMG_20201012_015106.jpg

I begin to wrap the canister with my old cuttings which is made of beaded material with sequence. It is stretchable.

IMG_20201012_025531_HHT.jpg

Fold the bias tape and sew the edges then use the double-edged tape to attach the bias tape. This is for the purpose of concealing the cuttings. It will look like a design, right?

IMG_20201012_030352_HHT.jpg

I used flower patches for finishing touches.

IMG_20201012_031914_HHT.jpg

IMG_20201012_032537_HHT.jpg

There. my project is done. My paper mache canister is now a multi-purpose container. It can now be used as flower vase holder, a pencil holder or for my sewing materials, or you can simply place it in one corner as part of your decorative as shown above.

My special thanks to @crosheille, @shanibeer, @muscara, @marblely and @neumannsalva. God bless you guys!

Thank you all and thank you for dropping by. Keep safe everyone!

Till then,

received_529027264440735.gif

received_2612670789060118.gif

IMG_20200914_055846.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome! What a nice result with the paper mache another recyclable put to good use plus fabric scraps! Iba talaga pag marunong manahi at may sewing machine.Creative hivians.

Indeed sister! I still lots of old notebooks here. I have lots to think of I don't know which to start with. Lol!

 4 years ago  

THis looks very beautiful. I love the sequin fabric, it adds a bit of luxury. I could imagine this container for a candle and than it will glow from the inside. Very lovely design (was it hard to sew this fabric with the sequins?)

Thanks! That gives me another idea to make for Christmas!Sewing with the sequins is manageable since it is soft unlike the ones you sew for embroidery which is thicker. The outfit I made out of this fabric was for dance sport competition hence the sparkling effects. I have lots of spandex cuttings from the band uniforms I used to make. You see, we make our DIYs out of the stuffs we have, right? That's the real essence of DIYs.

Hello...Excellent results, and the wonderful thing is that you used waste materials. Definitely, you used to hide the boards, looks like part of the design. Greetings,

Thanks! Yes, there is beauty in scraps if you only know how to enhance their beauty.
Thank you for dropping by!

.

Nice! Creative mind, creative hands.thumbs up!

Thanks! I do that whenever there's power shortage to erase boredom while waiting as to when our electricity would be up again! You know, we usually wait for a day when there's one!

Lovely way to use up scraps ... I keep even the smallest patches and lengths of thread :) I have special little boxes that used to hold business cards, they are perfect for keeping tiny treasures until you have the perfect place for them. These techniques could be used to create so many beautiful items for gifts and for fundraisers for schools and projects.

Yes, the DIYs you make are more appreciated rather than those bought in stores because it's made with TLC. Your creativity is greatly challenged. I have small up to jumbo boxes with all those stuffs that my kids used to tell me that hoarding is a psychological imbalance. Well, am willing to accept that so long as am happy with the things I made!😌 Lol! See, at this time of pandemic, I have lots to do even if I don't go out. It pays to be hard-headed sometimes. Hahaha

Good for you haha!

 4 years ago  

😅 me too @shanibeer! I keep everything and keep them inside little boxes too :D

 4 years ago  

Haha that is cool. The paper mache looks elegantly transformed with the bling fabric. This is a great way to use up scraps :)