Crochet headband

in NeedleWorkMondaylast year

As a re-beginner in crochet, I am trying to make simple projects such as a scarf and headband. Crochet is my hobby and although I started very young when my late aunt taught me, life took its course and I had forgotten all about it until I got wool yarn as a gift.

So, I decided to take up my crochet hook aka needle, and start to brush up my skills. I do know how to crochet but youtube has so many tutorials on how to start making projects and then go on to become an expert such as making a sweater or sock and so on.

Here are a few pictures of the headband I made recently.

I had ordered yarn from Eswar Shop in Madurai and they send it in spite of the Pongal holidays in Tamil Nadu. I found that they sell yarn cheaper than the sellers on Amazon. The only drawback is that Amazon delivers it to my doorstep but I had to go to the town to collect this packet from the courier service that does not come to my village. So, Amazon does have an edge even if the price is a bit higher where yarn is concerned.

So, yea, here are the pictures and I am sure that if you want to learn some new hobby, there is nothing that will stop you except yourself.


The completed headband


The yarn and the needle


Starting

Joined with a slip stitch

I wanted to show you how it looked as a completed project. I had taken measurements and this is approximately 22 inches.

Many people complain that acrylic yarn caused itches. I am not sure if it was because I read that but after I started this, I felt itching and I washed my hands and applied some coconut oil. The itching did not occur afterward but it could have been due to the fact that I came into contact with some allergens in the air. It is very dry weather condition now and there are many plants in our village that do cause itching.

The yarn is a multi-colored one. I like such colors because it looks more stylish and also make the project an interesting one. Using the same color would make me feel bored. Also, I choose light colors because it is easier on my eyes. I do love dark colors like red and dark brown and would have really wished to use them but I should also take care not to strain.

Have you ever tried to crochet? Any other needlework such as hand embroidery, knitting, etc?

In my opinion, a hobby is essential because it not only helps free the stress of everyday life but also gives a sense of achievement. Even if small, a thing created with our own skill is really good for the morale. So, please do try and learn some sort of craft. There are many online shops that even offer starter kits with many added goodies and such. You can also join a local crochet club if there is any, near your locality.

All images belong to Sayee.
#needleworkmonday

Hive tips - Use tags such as #neoxian #india or #indiaunited #mancave to get noticed by the respective curators on Hive.
Buying and hodling the IUC token will get you bonus votes if voted by the India United curator

Sort:  
 last year  

Crochet is a great handy craft activity and also an excelent therapy that's why I like it very much.
The yarn you use for the headband is so beautiful. thanks for sharing with us.

Thank you, dear. It is indeed a calming therapy.

Posted using Neoxian City

This post has been manually curated by @alokkumar121 from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @alokkumar121 by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 20.00% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

I didn’t know how to crochet but I have friends that do and I always love it when they make anything out of wool and I will say you did well with that head band.

Thank you, Mercy.

You are welcome 😊


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @sayee ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @sayee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

This is black magic to me. Amazing work!

I do darn my socks to try to make them last longer, but anything more than that is quite beyond me.

Anyway, I agree with you about hobbies. Hobbies are what make life interesting.

Thank you so much.

When I saw this post I was saying to myself, ‘what new invention have we got today’.

A headband! I haven’t seen anyone crochet that before. It looks really beautiful. You did good with it.

I still don’t get time to crochet. I don’t even have free time aside when I have to sleep.
Well, maybe I’ll start something soon enough.

I sure hope you do. All the best.