#needleworkmonday | Invasion of the Easter Bunnies

IMG_1612.jpeg

We had a slightly worrying horde of Easter bunnies and chicks making their way across the tables at the knitting group this week. One of the women who comes makes decorations to dress the village for all the different festivals - Hallowe'en, Remembrance Day, Christmas and now Easter.

Each little creature or basket holds an Easter Egg and, come Good Friday, they'll be hidden all through the village for children to find over the weekend. The Easter Egg in question is Cadbury's Crème Egg, which are truly disgusting to eat being 90% sugar, 9% colouring and 1% cocoa, but they are a solid, heavy egg for their size (so much smaller than when they first came out) and perfect for weighing down little woollen bunnies and chicks.

I was going to suggest an Easter contest to guess how many there were, but I forgot to count them! You can have a try if you like, some of them are quite hard to see. HSBI for guesses! Meanwhile, I'll try and find out from the maker how many there are.

It was lovely to see everyone after a few months away. I think the last time I saw some of them was at the Christmas Dinner. Well, we had plenty to gossip about, what everyone has been up to, some losses, some new people, whether the village LIbrary (where we meet) was going to stay open.

I made the tea as I do. Usually, only one or two people want a hot drink, but today, well, I had to get a piece of paper and take notes. Then there's rummaging for the cups in the communal kitchen and the washing and drying of the cups because previous users have not always been meticulous. I did manage to resist cleaning out the entire crockery cupboard, although it badly needs it.

We had a long discussion about the WI (Women's Institute) and the new groups that are starting up. Although numbers are much lower now than they in the years between 1915 and the 1960s, there has been a resurgence in groups and membership. Although staunchly a-political, the WI is not averse to making its feelings known, as when Tony Blair, Prime Minister, forgot where he was:

Heckled, jeered, booed - Blair bombs at the WI

The penny seemed to drop after he was heckled during references to cuts in interest rates since Labour took power in 1997. Forced off his stride, he said: "Well, I'm glad we're having a good debate anyway." Women responded tut-tutting that this was a party lecture not a debate.

"Our chair warned that if he tried to make it political he would get short shrift."

Source

Love it, go WI!

image.png

37BCFE6A-1297-46C2-9304-E24701F93431.jpeg

Part of Needlework Monday, the community for everything needles, fibre and fabric (FAQs).

Founded by @crosheille supported by @marblely, @kattycrochet, @lauramica, @neumannsalva and @romeskie.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Seeing all of these has brought back many childhood memories and is made with a lot of hard work.

Happy Easter holidays
They all look cute

This is a cute one. Happy easter holidays @shanibeer!

🐥

What a cute horde lol...I'm guessing 48 little creme egg carriers. Wow, that's a whole lot of sugar. My teeth hurt just looking at the picture lol. Knitting group sounds like a good time to catch up with friends.

48 is a good guess!

Oh my word!!!! How cute are the little bunnies!

I love the one on the right, with a blue jacket

They were very cute! And I think because they are a bit wobbly (the egg forms their base) and fall this way and that, they are even cuter!

Yeah that’s my favorite too
They look so so cute 🥰

I remember the TOny Blair and WI incident. More power to them and, oh yes, I'm quite partial to a truly disgusting Cadbury's Crème Egg. 😂

They're not my favourite, but I'll eat one if there are no other choices 😂

Ha. Caught you! 🤣 And there was I thinking you'd gone all Zoe on us.

Even Zoe is only 80% of the time!

Are Brownies simply under cooked cake?

😂 Brownies to me are like Cadbury's Crème Eggs to you "I'll eat one if there are no other choices". 😂

The Easter Egg in question is Cadbury's Crème Egg, which are truly disgusting to eat being 90% sugar, 9% colouring and 1% cocoa,

You hush, don't speak about The Precious that way! ;) (I love those things, I don't care, lol)

I guess 55 dolls!

They are incredibly popular!

55 is close!

Quite a beautiful Easter tradition to engage the little ones.
Happy Good Friday dear
I hope you have a good time with everyone there.

Let me pick a lucky number at 32 🤗🤣, my guess could be terrible though .

Lucky number 32 - let's see 😍

The bunnies really looks so cute I must acknowledge 😍

Wow this are really amazing. The all look beautiful. I love it all

This is beautiful

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am