You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Red and White Linen dress - from old tablecloth and trousers

in NeedleWorkMonday22 days ago

I love the feel of old linen items - usually tableware - that have been used and washed many times. They become so soft and the drape is wonderful. I remember my mum starching them (in the days when she ironed) to give the pristine finish for cloths and napkins, but I love the soft feel of the unstarched version.

Sort:  

Oh yes, it is one of my favourite fabrics to pull out of a great stack on the 50c stalls... And yes indeed - even better when it is older (I imagine new linen could be all sorts of unnatural!) and like you say, worn to that softness which is so lovely to touch and wear... Thank you so much for this lovely comment dearest @shanibeer 😊🥰 And, I'd forgotten about starch, gosh, aye - remembering clothes decades back, all stiff and uncomfortable, for formal events 🤪