You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: End of Year Clothing Audit

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago (edited)

Thank you so much for your lovely comment 😍. I feel these are all important things, so its good to be able to discuss them.

A short answer for now: there seems to be a trend, perhaps initiated/exacerbated by social media, for documenting everything that we do, rather than simply living 😂. By the time we have recorded our finances, clothes, food, creative endeavours and (my personal bete-noire) productivity, we have a lot of data, a second tier of mediated life, going on. My own approach to this dilemma is to focus on one or two things and to do spot checks now and then to see how things are going and whether I need to adjust.

With regard to fashion, clothing, self-identity and expression and their connection to sustainability, I feel there is something else going on as well, which is about an acknowledging and healing process that allows us (especially women, but not exclusively) to understand and accept ourselves, our being, our embodied wholeness. I'm thinking about your little sculpture oozing blood and the counter to that, as I'm writing.