You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: End of Year Clothing Audit

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Just been back and checked the comments: several other people highlighted the hanky code, interesting the generational gap in knowledge (sorry to lump you in the same generation as me 😜)! But it also seems in Japan it is common to carry a very lightweight handkerchief to use as a hand-towel/tissue, and some people picked up on the styling for carrying fabric face-masks. I really liked the idea, although one person commented that a scarf in a back pocket meant you wanted it stolen 😂.

Sort:  

(sorry to lump you in the same generation as me 😜)

Ha ha ha, I'm 43 so technically I'm an Xer but I identify more with the "Xennial" idea, kind of a mini generation with some things in common with Xers and some things in common with Millennials, the "analog childhood/digital adulthood" being our experience as we came of age as the world changed.

I do sometimes use handkerchiefs at home but usually I don't take them when I go out; the reason is because stuffing a snotty handkerchief in my pocket just keeps it wet, lol. At home when I use one I hang it up, I don't put it in my pocket. I haven't set it up in the new apartment yet but in the old apartment I kept a ring on a hook next to my bed and that's where my hanky went, so I could use it in bed and then hang it up to dry. I would then wash it when it was pretty full. xD I do put half-used tissues in my pocket and they dry? But I think it's a matter of how thin they are compared to a thick handkerchief. x3