needleworkmonday challenge. "Tease us"//putting a sewing skill to use!

Good morning and happy Monday needle partners! It's a bright day today.
Some months ago I had my eyes on a passerby wearing a breathtaking jumpsuit that has an half cut and I couldn't get my eyes off her until she went a very far distance cos she was so beautiful in it, unfortunately I couldn't take a picture of the her on the jumpsuit but I was busy doing some calculations in my brain about how to make that same style since I was never taught how to make jumpsuits at where I learned how to sew. I noted that the material used was a chiffon material so I started looking for one.
Days ago after coming across the "tease us" challenge I went through my mum's collection and as if lady luck shown on me I saw this chiffon material and the picture of the jumpsuit popped in my brain immediately.

IMG_20210628_082504.jpg

I found the material and the problem now was how to make the cutting. Then an idea popped in my brain, I decided to use the idea of cutting a trouser and a half cut for a blouse. Now doing something I've never done makes me shiver but I had to tell myself I can do it.

IMG_20210531_163144.jpg

Here I kept the fabric on fold and took the length i wanted to use for the down part then proceeded to measure out the crouch, the waist, hip, thigh and knee measurements for the front cut.

IMG_20210531_164339.jpg

I proceeded to cut it out, I made an extension after the knee to give a flared effect.

IMG_20210531_164159.jpg

I made another fold here then pasted the front part on it to get the back part. Since the back part is wider, I made an extension of 2 inches on the mid waist region and crouch area to accumulate the wideness of the butt then proceeded to cut it out.
Before the day ends I should be able to complete cutting and start the sewing. I'm just waiting to see what to turn out from this project!!!!! I can feel it's going to be amazing just as the picture I have in my head!!!!💃💃
Thanks for the patience and for reading!!!!!

Sort:  

Chiffon is a lovely fabric. It can be slippery to work with, though. Sometimes I find it frustrating, but it is worth the effort.

Yeah it's really frustrating! But I'm prepared for it.

Hello, I wish you every success in the project. It looks like you know very well what you want to do.

Thanks so much!

 3 years ago  

So exiting if your design will work out and fit. I am so glad you are daring to sew this jumpsuit as I also think they can look really special (and you always have a complete outfit :-DDD)

Congratulations @soniabasil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Oh the fabric is nice! I love it when people challenge themselves to try something new with sewing. Good luck! :D
!BEER


Hey @soniabasil, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hey @soniabasil! It’s very inspiring how you saw an outfit you wanted to make and are now in the process of creating it all from what was in your mind. That’s pretty amazing! So glad you found the material you needed to accomplish this. I hope it all works out well to your fitting.

Thanks so much for joining all the fun ~

Thanks

Absolutely ;)

 3 years ago  

I always have a fear of cutting my fabric, thinking what a waste if I cut wrongly :D
The chiffon material is lovely. Can't wait for your reveal next week to see how this turns out :)

Thanks!!! If I cut it wrongly there always a recycling option or a change of style, except it's for a client then the fear comes in. 😊

Hello @soniabasil !
For your entry to be counted, please remember to include the links to this tease post and your final reveal post next Monday at the contest post. 😊