Needlework Monday - Beaded Evil Eye Amulet

in NeedleWorkMonday9 months ago

In this post I want to share a cool project I recently finished. A friend of mine asked me to make a nice amulet "word-off evil eyes" for his rearview mirror. He just bought a new car and he didn't want any evil eyes! Some cultures around the world believe in this, and I respect everyone.

So here it is, 6 inches long. I like it a lot and I will definitely make a few more, just a little bit smaller, so they can be worn on necklaces if people want. I would use silver beads for fringes next time, I think it will be more subtle. This one is very daring, it looks like it says "stay away" ... what do you think?

image2 (2).jpeg

Some steps in the process: I made the eye first, using brick stitch, the same stitch you use in fringe earrings. After I finished the eye, I started to make fringe. I graduated the length of each fringe and ended each with a drop bead, so it has the look of tiny tear drops. Well... I tried.

image1 (2).jpeg

The bottom part went well. It took a lot of time and a lot of beads. I used Delica beads which are quite expensive, regular 11/0 seed beads would have been more suitable, because they are more rounded, not tube, so they would have draped better, I think.

The top part was tricky because I had no plan, no pattern, so I had to improvise. I did short fringes and ended up with square stitch and a loop, so we could hang it from the rearview mirror. I should've taken a photo from the car... next time....

I hope you like my creation, see you soon!

image0 (12).jpeg

14552DA6-4E50-4290-842F-8ADE8056A43A.jpeg

F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @starjewel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023
HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors

You have done a nice job @starjewel, it must be a very patient job, your friend will be very happy with the result.

Cheers!

Different cultures with different ideas. We keep learning everyday.

You did a nice job dear.
Well done.