Needlework Monday - Herringbone Beaded Ring

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

In this post I'd like to share my latest bead project: herringbone ring. This is the first time when I use tila beads, it's very exciting!

Here is the ring I made. It is very comfortable, I will wear it all the time.

herringbonering.jpeg

Tila beads are special glass beads with 2 holes. The beads that I used in this project are half tila, that means they are rectangular shape, not square. The color of the beads is a beautiful antique bronze. I also used some little tiny seed beads, size 15/0. As you can see in the photo below, I made a bracelet too, all I need to do is to put a clasp on and it's ready to sit on my wrist.

hr2.jpeg

The herringbone technique is simple, the beginning of the project might be a little tricky, but there are many tutorials on Youtube that explain how to do it. But once you get it right, the rest is repetition.

Here are some photos showing the work in progress. In the last photo you can see the 2 ends of the ring. I thought that was the most difficult part, but it was actually the easiest. I just followed the pattern, nothing unusual.

hr3.jpeg

Here is the finished ring, it came out a little smaller than I planned, but I am sure it will stretch a little. I used special Fireline thread that is supposed not to stretch... but this is a hand-made ring and the tension of the thread is not perfect. We'll see!

hr1.jpeg

I hope you like my ring. If you want to try to make something like this, head to Youtube and check out the herringbone technique with half tila beads. There are plenty tutorials easy to follow. In this post I just wanted to share my latest creation with #needlework community.

14552DA6-4E50-4290-842F-8ADE8056A43A.jpeg


F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

I love these gorgeous piece of golden ring you made.
It's so appealing.

Really cool ring! I like how it turned out and the fact that you made it! It is a great design and would make other jewelry that would look amazing on! Thanks for showing how it was made!

Thanks, I like the design too. I want to make a set, including necklace and earrings. I must buy more tila beads, they are not cheap though and I’m not rich either. 😂

Good fun! I bet that would make a great set!

Now that is totally fascinating! The herringbone design is so perfect with those rectangular shapes. What kind of clasp will you be putting on the bracelet?

I sort of would have expected the ring to stretch, and glad it does. I could just see me struggling with it.

It looks mah-valous, dahling! Thank you for showing it off! Don't mind me, I am just taking this home with me! Mwah!❤️

Have a great start to your new week.

Thank you for stopping by, @dswigle, my lovely friend! I will probably put a toggle clasp, I will take a pic when it’s done. I must go to Michaels soon. Or Hobby Lobby. Dangerous places for me! LOL. I will write a post for your awesome MarketFriday challenge. See you there!

that would be delightful!! Stay out of those places!!! Or buy stock in it. :) See you in the comment section!

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Thank you!

Wow, this looks like a gold ring. You did nice work. Thanks for sharing

Thank you, it looks expensive, for sure 🤩

Your welcome.

beautiful ring! it looks very interesting on the hand

Yes, it surely looks interesting. If it stretches a little, I will wear it on my index finger.

Oh I love it. I've not tried herringbone stitch yet. Your ring is beautiful. Youtu.be has taught me how to make my own jewelry. I'll checkout the rings again. Thank you for sharing.

Congratulations @starjewel ! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's NeedleWorkMonday Community Featured Posts #177!
Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#needleworkmonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the NeedleWorkMonday Community while inspiring the Hive blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Join our Discord channels!

Very grateful for the distinction, I love to share in this community what I am learning.

Excellent compilation this week.

Greetings

Wow! That's really beautiful and fascinating to watch the process. Great post @starjewel!