Needlework Monday - New Canvas Art Project

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

This post is my contribution to #needleworkmonday challenge founded by @crosheille and hosted by @muscara, and @marblely .

I started a new project and I am very excited to share my work-in-progress photos. It is a mixed media canvas art that represents Mother Earth and the Three Goddess concept, so I called it TRINITY.

The canvas is large, 4 feet by 3 feet, and it is of course a recycle: a panel used in a hotel lobby that had some tears that I repaired. The paint is faded, but I will glue stuff on it, add texturing materials and re-paint it! So it's perfect!

Here is the canvas laying on my couch, so you guys can get an idea of what I'm doing here.

tri6.jpeg

As you can see, my initial materials are cord and beads. I initially threaded the beads, but I decided to use them unthreaded, it was easier. The cord is from the dollar store... a cloth line cord... And my cat is usually in the middle of everything!

tri2.jpeg

In today's post I want to emphasize the usage of a cotton cord in a mixed media piece of art. The cord is outlining the drawing, giving it the 'raised' look. I love continuous line drawing in general, and a thick cord will mimic this technique very nicely.

So... gluing the cord with a hot glue gun is the first step. Actually the first step was drawing... that is another story... it took me many moons to come up with this drawing :)

tri3.jpeg

Next step is to glue the beads and complete the spiral design in Gaia's body and also the eye on the top (that I didn't finish yet).

tri4.jpeg

So here is the result for now.

tri1.jpeg

I love it. I will add more texturizing elements, like felt flowers and leaves, and I will paint everything with a thick layer of gesso, let it dry for a few days and then paint the whole canvas. I will come back and share my Trinity canvas art when finished.

I hope someone will get inspired and maybe start creating something amazing. Remember!!! Art is nothing if it is not shared!!!

14552DA6-4E50-4290-842F-8ADE8056A43A.jpeg

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

I love this! The design, the use of beads and cord, all of it! So awesome. And I love that you are reusing a canvas, too. :D
!LUV

This is beautiful, I love the idea. I love building layers and having a richly textured piece. I like your idea about the cord as an outline and using it to give extra dimension. Where will you hang the canvas when it is finished?

Thank you. I have an empty wall waiting for Trinity to be displayed there. 🙂

Lovely! ❤️

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Mythology and symbols are a fascinating topic for me and I am very interested to which cultural area you are referring to… At first I thought at northern myth (Irland to be precise) because of the triskele but then I remembered the much older stories about Ishtar and her half moon/full moon headpiece and its symbolic meaning of the different phases in a life of a woman and change and fertility in generell.. Did I already said that I love art which is full of allusions to myth :-DDD Looking forward how your artwork will develop <3

I am fascinated by mythology too, I am a spiritual person, not religious though. In this canvas I bring together few elements that I love: Gaia, Triple Goddess, Triskelion and Eye of Providence. Past, Present, Future under the Eye that Sees Everything. That’s how I think everything works. I think this piece will be a great conversation piece and a subject of reflection, like the other two canvases that I previously made. I made Mother Nature and Tree of Love, I already wrote a couple of posts about those a while ago. But yeah, I will share the final result of this canvas in Needleworkmonday community.

Wow, beautiful work. I am excited to see how it would look like once fully done. As usual, your kitty looks so interested in your work, er.. cord. Such an adorbs furball. <3

I will post the final result... patience... it might take a few weeks... and yes, my cat is always in the mix!!!!!

 3 years ago  

This design is amazing. What will it final destination be?
PS: that cat is soooo beautiful ❤️.

Love it

 3 years ago  

Waooo It is a pleasure for me watching this kind of art.
I am eager to continuous watching the process, it is something new for me but I think it is a marvelous way to make art using all this material.


Agregar un título (1).png