Needlework Monday - Victorian necklace with crystals and seed beads

in NeedleWorkMonday11 months ago

Needlework is an amazing hobby: there are so many things you can create with the good old needle! In this post I would like to show how you can make a beautiful piece of jewelry with a very thin needle, strong (but very thin thread), manmade fancy crystals with foil back, some glass pearl beads, lots of seed beads and of course lots of patience and skills too.

This is the necklace, it took me a while to complete it. I think I need pages and pages to describe the way I made it. There are many steps involved. I used seed beads to make bezels for the crystals, then I connected them with glass beads in a flower pattern. The chain is the same flower pattern, but I used it in diagonal, that's why it looks different.

image2.jpeg

In this post I want to show how I made the chain.

I started with 8 seed beads, I made a circle and then connected 3 more circles, as shown in the photo below. That's how you make each unit: with 4 circles. In each of those circles you stitch a bead that fits. You make about 20 units, or as many as you need for your desired length.

image1.jpeg

To connect each unit, I used a smaller bead in a different color. I think it looks great, nice color combination. I finished the necklace with a simple lobster claw clasp.

image0 (2).jpeg

14552DA6-4E50-4290-842F-8ADE8056A43A.jpeg


F1B56A61-CB2E-44D1-A22F-B836D20DD84E.png

Follow me and my stories
0BA25C9B-589B-4828-81CA-2E444FD75F0D.gif

76AC110C-7FC9-4609-B70A-B98A7A5598A9.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh I can see just from your post how much time and patience something like this takes. The necklace is absolutely gorgeous and those beads have a beautiful violet color I love. Thanks for sharing how you made the chain. Very detailed and beautiful work @starjewel ~ 😊

The necklace is beautiful, I really like the color, it can be seen that it is a job that takes a lot of time