Can you do crafts during times of stress?

in NeedleWorkMonday7 months ago

Good Monday to all our creative community!!! I hope this week has been productive for you and that you are doing well!
I've heard that for many people, handicrafts or drawing, for example, are a great help with stress. It turns out this is not about me. I started knitting a sweater from lilac cotton yarn.

IMG-20231009-204216-253.jpg

I tested this yarn before and was very pleased.

IMG-20231009-204202-204.jpg

I first tried to knit a simple pattern like the one in the photo.

IMG-20231009-204202-323.jpg

But then I chose another openwork pattern for knitting and began to knit this pattern.

IMG-20231009-204208-016.jpg

IMG-20231009-204208-012.jpg

I knitted a little for a few days and made some progress.

IMG-20231009-204208-971.jpg

But on Saturday, hostilities suddenly began in our country and we found ourselves under massive rocket fire. On such days, we hide in a bomb shelter and do not leave the house even when it is quiet, since at any moment a siren could go off, warning of shelling. And it would seem that you sit at home and knit. But for some reason I can’t knit when I’m very nervous. Knitting for me is tantamount to peace and comfort, but at a moment of strong emotional excitement I cannot knit.

It’s now the third day since the start of the war, but I still haven’t been able to return to knitting. Can you do crafts when you're stressed?

IMG-20231009-204215-904.jpg
(all photos are taken by me)

Take care of yourself and be healthy!!!

Sort:  

Stay safe dear @tali72. My thought are with you, ❤

thank you my dear! you are very kind!!!

Это просто какой-то кошмар. Какое тут вязание. Берегите себя! Пей успокаивающие чаи, может чуть нормализуется твоё состояние, дорогая. Очень всем вам сочувствую...

Спасибо, Светуль! Пью все, что можно и ещё кучу всего 😕 в голову нормального человека просто не укладывается бессмысленная, звериная жестокость

Держись, дорогая! Старайся по возможности не думать о плохом. Берегите себя! Я всегда стараюсь надеяться на лучшее, так легче осознавать происходящее...

спасибо за добрые слова! самая большая сложность это именно осознать происходящее. здесь все в шоке! нам понадобилось время, чтобы вообще прийти в себя. очень жалко людей. в плане будущего мне намного проще: я знаю, что скоро все изменится и на земле будет мир. я читаю Священное Писание. там описывается будущее. страшно настоящее 😩

 7 months ago  

Oh Tali, I'm so sorry to hear about the war. Surely it is impossible to concentrate in a state like that. I hope you and your loved ones are well. Stay safe 😔.

Thank you very much for your kindness, my dear!!!!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much