I am making my first sewing pattern

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Good Monday to all our creative community!!! I hope this week has been productive for you and that you are doing well!
Maybe you remember that I had an idea to sew a summer top for the house. I understand that this should not be difficult, but I have never sewed tops. I decided to look for a pattern. I searched through many sites on the Internet and found a few that I liked. I also found a video where a seamstress girl explains how to sew a top and even tells how to make a pattern herself!

IMG-20220604-173321.jpg

It was only necessary to take a suitable large piece of paper, turn on the video and do what she says. But I just didn't have the right paper. I've looked all over my house but haven't found anything. And then my package arrived where the goods were shifted by two pieces of paper. Hooray!!! It was exactly what was needed!
This paper looks terrible, doesn't it? 😁🙈 But I can practice on it. To begin with, I asked my husband to help me make the necessary patterns: waist circumference, chest circumference and back length to the waist. My husband enjoyed doing this 😂 Next, we drew a rectangle according to my measurements taken.

IMG-20220602-111513.jpg

And then I just clearly followed the instructions of the seamstress, completely not understanding what I was doing. I was told: from point 3 we set aside half the circumference of the chest plus 2 cm and put point 4, and I did it 🙈

IMG-20220602-111713.jpg

Then we marked a part on the pattern, as I later understood, for turning.

IMG-20220602-111522.jpg

Something began to appear on my crumpled paper 😁

IMG-20220602-111528.jpg

On the second piece of paper, I also drew some details. Now we need to cut it all out! The main thing is not to make a mistake how exactly to cut off 🙈

IMG-20220604-173321.jpg

Finally, the seamstress showed how to correctly lay out all the details of the pattern on the fabric.

IMG-20220602-111426.jpg

Hurrah! I made my first sewing pattern by myself!!! 💃💃💃 Of course, it would be even better if this pattern were correct 😁 Well, I hope so. You can check this only by trying to sew a top on this pattern. I'll do it as soon as... I muster up the courage 🙈😀
(all photos are taken by me)

Take care of yourself and be healthy!

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

thank you very much!

У вас прямо семейный подряд :-) Желаю тебе побыстрее сшить все эти детали топа и потом в нём щеголять...

спасибочки! боюсь, это еще будет не скоро. я обычно долго настраиваюсь на что-то новое

Wow, this is nice and amazing to see you make your own patterns, patterns make sewing easier and your outfits comes out fitting and perfect once you are done.
Well done ❤😍😘

Thanks a lot, darling! I just need to learn how to sew using a pattern

 2 years ago  

I am so excited with you!!! Making a pattern oneself is not easy and yours seams to be even more complicated as there are a lot of pattern pieces. Do you have some old/cheap fabric to try the pattern? I have read some seamstresses use cheap huge plastic bags as a kind of fabric to test a pattern. Could this be a possibility for you too?
And for the pattern I sometimes use old newspaper, these are huge here :-D

thank you very much my dear! Yes, you are absolutely right, I will first try sewing on old fabric. so that it would not be a pity to throw it out on condition of a complete failure 😶. yes, I remember those huge newspapers. I have not seen such here, but maybe I just did not pay attention because I did not need it. thanks for the idea!!! I'll have to take a closer look, maybe there are such newspapers here too. Take care of yourself!!!!