I finally got around to sewing

in NeedleWorkMonday5 months ago

Good Monday to all our creative community!!! I hope this week has been productive for you and that you are doing well!
Last week I again did a little of everything: knitting and sewing. Since, in view of the ongoing hostilities in my country, we are now working via zoom, I decided not to rush to finish knitting my lilac sweater. The fact is that I only leave the house in a tracksuit for a sports walk or to the grocery store. At any moment there may be a siren warning of a rocket attack and we will have to run to shelter. Therefore, I try to dress in a sporty style that is comfortable for running.
The results of that week look like this!

First of all, I decided to implement one of my ideas with a beach tunic. This is a stunning green cotton dress. One drawback - I don't really like this length: it's too short. Of course, a beach tunic shouldn’t be long - it’s not comfortable - but still I wanted to make it a little longer. In my box was an old negligee with beautiful soft green wide lace. I haven't used this for a long time so I decided to move this lace onto the tunic. To my surprise, it took me quite a long time to carefully remove it from the peignoir fabric. I was glad that this was enough for the length of the tunic.

The color of the lace goes well with the color of the tunic fabric.

And this is what I got!

The tunic looks completely different: very beautiful and festive. And the length is now a little longer, which I'm very happy about.

In fact, I try to get rid of clothes that I haven't worn for a long time. But this peignoir was so beautiful that I was sorry to part with it, although I have had it for more than 20 years. I was once again convinced that clothes 20-30 years ago were of higher quality in terms of tailoring and the fabric itself.

I also continued working on a sundress for the home. But then my sewing machine started to get very tangled in the bottom thread and I had to stop sewing while my husband fixed it.

Our sewing machine is cheap, so it often malfunctions in one way or another. I'm trying to come to terms with this. So I moved on to continue knitting the sleeves of the lilac sweater.

I have plans for several more alterations and repairs of my clothes. And of course I will slowly continue this knitting. I want to do this for my pleasure.
(all photos are taken by me)

Take care of yourself and be healthy!!!

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Wow, more than 20 years for a garment? That's a long time and it still looks in excellent condition! I have also used the trick of lengthening a dress with lace, it makes the clothes look good. Congratulations ❣️.

thank you very much, my dear! Yes, sometimes you just need small changes in clothes to make it look cool! I'm sure you made some amazing clothes with that lace!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tali72.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

The lace made the dress really nice.

thank you very much, my dear! I also think it looks much better with lace