🧵 {30/04/24} ✦ Successful Sewing Practice: Organza Totebag 🪡 🍑 [photo tour] ✦ 🇪🇸 │ 🇺🇸

PortadaPrototipoTotebagTesmoforia2024.png

✦ No kittens were harmed during this production, the model was generously paid with tuna kibble; editing/collage with FotoJet, photos by @Tesmoforia

🇪🇸 ~ Últimamente me encuentro horas y horas navegando por Pinterest en busca de inspiración, pero mas que buscar referencias, tomo nota de las cosas que veo poco comunes o inexistentes (una combinación de colores rara, un tipo de moño inusual, un fleco en una propuesta diferente). ¡Quiero crear cosas hermosas pero no imitar diseños de otras personas!.

🇺🇸 ~ Lately I find myself hours and hours browsing Pinterest for inspiration, but more than looking for references, I take note of things I see unusual or non-existent (a weird color combination, an unusual type of bow, a fringe in a different proposal). I want to create beautiful things, but not imitate other people's designs!.

1714492113462.jpg1714492113512.jpg1714492113453.jpg
1714492113482.jpg1714492113502.jpg1714492113522.jpg

✦ Screenshots taken from my smartphone of searches on Pinterest ✦

No me ha ocurrido tantas veces como para decir que han sido "muchas las ocasiones", pero sí llevo algunos diseños en mis libretas que he tenido que descartar por ver algo muy parecido o casi idéntico mientras navego el feed o catálogo de alguna tienda o emprendimiento extranjero. Eso me recuerda al fenómeno de los escritores de fanfics: Tienes una idea, que tiene todo lo bueno, original, inesperado (un plot on point u3u) pero si buscas con paciencia los tags adecuados, sin duda encontraras que otros escritores ya han destilado esas ideas tan geniales que tuviste, incluso con una destreza mucho mas allá de tus actuales habilidades.

It hasn't happened to me so many times as to say that there have been "many occasions", but I do carry some designs in my notebooks that I've had to discard for seeing something very similar or almost identical while browsing the feed or catalog of some store or foreign venture. That reminds me of the phenomenon of fanfic writers: You have an idea, which has everything good, original, unexpected (a plot on point u3u) but if you patiently search for the right tags, you'll no doubt find that other writers have already distilled those cool ideas you had, even with a skill far beyond your current abilities.

Tote1.png

✦ I have not yet bought the machine foot that makes the ruches automatically and I still prefer the symmetrical boards in the meantime. It is relaxing to make them ✦

Mixear elementos ajenos tampoco es una idea que resuene conmigo, aunque parece inevitable cuando son elementos tan básicos o globales como un broche en forma de corazón o rosas de tela de color rosa. Me hace preguntarme sobre las líneas que separan la inspiración de la imitación, y con la segunda palabra me gusta ser precavida porque imitación no significa precisamente tributo a la fuente original.

Mixing foreign elements is not an idea that resonates with me either, although it seems inevitable when they are elements as basic or global as a heart-shaped brooch or pink fabric roses. It makes me wonder about the lines that separate inspiration from imitation, and with the second word I like to be cautious because imitation doesn't exactly mean tribute to the original source.

✦ How do you price the things you make in your country? Based on what? Here it is based on the materials you used, and you double that amount. It's like the basic fair rule of thumb (the money the materials cost you, the money to buy the material back, and your profit), but it's not always a formula that makes sense in reality, it depends a lot on what you make or sell ✦

Otra anécdota singular de este fin de semana es que mientras trabajaba en este prototipo de bolso-tote de organza, dí con una referencia en Etsy y el precio me asombro mucho (no se si sea un tema de economía o cultura al hacer comparaciones, ya que soy oriunda de Latam), porque un totebag sencillo, liso sin decoraciones tenía un costo por encima de los 50 Euros. ¿En Europa eso es normal? 😳 Respeto muchísimo el trabajo de otros creativos, pero siento que aquí me he perdido alguna información importante...

Another singular anecdote from this weekend is that while working on this organza tote-bag prototype, I came across a reference on Etsy and the price really amazed me (I don't know if it's a matter of economy or culture when making comparisons, since I'm originally from Latam), because a simple, plain totebag with no decorations had a cost over 50 Euros. In Europe is that normal? 😳 I respect very much the work of other creatives, but I feel I missed some important information here...

Tote3.png

✦ I really like the color, this year I'm leaning towards pastel colors ✦

Y respecto a mi prototipo, no estoy 100% convencida porque a mi gusto le faltan decoraciones, quería colocarle dos lazos grandes en la base de cada aza, pero mis "betas" de quienes recibo sugerencias de diseño me dijeron que era too much, que un solo moño en el centro era suficiente... y no consigo dónde guardé el resto de esta tela en mi taller (sonidos de indignación costureril).

And regarding my prototype, I am not 100% convinced because it lacks decorations to my taste, I wanted to put two big bows at the base of each cup, but my "betas" from whom I receive design suggestions told me that it was too much, that a single bow in the center was enough... and I don't know where I kept the rest of this fabric in my workshop (sounds of indignation costureril).

Tote2.png

✦ Isn't that symmetry pleasant? ✦

Es difícil encontrar un equilibrio entre el "se ve hermoso" y el "se ve sobresaturado", al menos a mi me cuesta identificar el momento en que debo detenerme, asi que piezas tan limpias en tendencia como estas representan un nuevo reto para mi. Pero en general, si, estoy bastante feliz, no del todo inconforme. ¿Quizá me estoy exigiendo demasiado... para no variar?.

It's hard to find a balance between "it looks beautiful" and "it looks oversaturated", at least for me it's hard to identify when to stop, so clean on-trend pieces like these represent a new challenge for me. But overall, yes, I'm quite happy, not entirely unhappy. Maybe I'm pushing myself too hard... for a change?

Tote4.png

✦ I don't know why the cats insist on lying on the projects I do but I won't complain, I hope they keep doing it, I feel like they are blessing them or something ✦

¡PUNTOS POSITIVOS HASTA AHORA DE MI PROTOTIPO!

✅ Que la organza no te engañe, tiene 2 capas y 5 puntadas de seguridad en todo el borde superior (y el forro es una sola pieza sin costuras en la parte inferior).
✅ Estoy muy enamorada de las azas, que son 2 tiras de 14 cm de ancho dobladas a la mitad y cocidas, puedes amarrarlo a la altura que quieras y deja un lazo muy bello sobre tu hombro.
✅ Muy espacioso, no modificare sus dimensiones.
✅ ¿Combinable?, ¡si!, aunque me sugieren mucho replicar colores mas vivos, sobre todo rosado.
✅ LAVABLE, es perfectamente lavable uwu palabras que enamoran ✨

Tote5.png

✦ I think these are my favorite photos of this month ✦

"POSITIVE POINTS SO FAR FROM MY PROTOTYPE!"

✅ Don't let the organza fool you, it has 2 layers and 5 safety stitches all the way around the top edge (and the lining is one piece with no seams on the bottom).
✅ I am very much in love with the handles, which are 2, 14 cm wide strips folded in half and baked, you can tie it at any height you want and it leaves a very beautiful bow over your shoulder.
✅ Very spacious, I will not modify its dimensions.
✅ Combinable, yes, although I would suggest to replicate more vivid colors, especially pink.
✅ WASHABLE, it's perfectly washable uwu words to fall in love with ✨

Tote6.png

✦ Goodbye April, you were a very complicated month! ✦

La próxima semana debo salir de shopping por un pequeño lote de telas nuevas, quiero replicar esto en rosa pastel, celeste y algún color tornasol; he estado enferma casi desde inicio de Abril (otra vez) pero hoy finalmente me estoy sintiendo mejor, además mi rutina ha cambiado drásticamente y eso ha afectado brutalmente mi creatividad, pero hoy desperté mejor que ayer y eso es un gran avance después de muchos días de analgésicos, somnolencia y caminar lento 💊 😴

Next week I must go out shopping for a small batch of new fabrics, I want to replicate this in pastel pink, light blue and some iridescent color; I have been sick almost since the beginning of April (again) but today I am finally feeling better, also my routine has changed drastically and that has brutally affected my creativity, but today I woke up better than yesterday and that is a great progress after many days of painkillers, sleepiness and slow walking 💊 😴



✨ 💙 Add me to your FanBase on HiveVote by CLICKING HERE! 💙 ✨

~ You must login to the site first, then click on the text above ~

FIRMA-HIVE.jpg

community.png comments.png payout (2).png posts (2).png birthday-6.png replies (3).png upvoted.png upvotes.png supportbuzz.png

✨ 🍓 All texts and images by @Tesmoforia 🍓 ✨
📸 Tools: Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 📲 Snow 🎬 Remini 🌓 FotoJet 📐
🚨 ¡Please do not take, edit or republish my material without my permission! 🚨
💌 ¿Do you wish to contact me? [email protected] 💌
🌙 Banner, signature and separators by Keili Lares

⚜ 𝙰𝚕𝚕 𝚁𝚒𝚐𝚑𝚝𝚜 𝚁𝚎𝚜𝚎𝚛𝚟𝚎𝚍 / © 𝚃𝙴𝚂𝙼𝙾𝙵𝙾𝚁𝙸𝙰 - 𝟸𝟶𝟷𝟾/𝟸𝟶𝟸4 ⚜

Sort:  

Me encantó este bolso, quedó genial, espero te sigas mejorando para que puedas seguir realizando tus costuras, feliz día.

¡Hola Lismar! Que linda 😍 Me alegra mucho que el proyecto te gustara, y de verdad muchas gracias por los buenos deseos 💜

 20 days ago  

50 euros por un bolso liso es una locura... entonces este tuyo que es tan hermoso cuánto debería costar 🙃. Algunos precios están muy locos realmente jajaja.

Ni sé que decirte Lau, es que todavía no salgo del shock xD ¡sería apoteósico poder vender a esos precios aquí! 💷 💷 💷

aww! The pictures of your kitten resting in the fabric really warms my heart. Amazing tutorial too!

Oooooh those are my favorite photos of the whole tour! They are very special and have a curious and peaceful personality, as they don't damage the material, I let them free around the house to rest wherever they want to 🐱