Crafting a Chic White Shoulder Bag with Lace Accent

in NeedleWorkMondaylast month (edited)

While journeying to Frodsham last Wednesday, I aimlessly crocheted, sticking to the simple double crochet stitch throughout our trip so I could converse as well without making any mistakes. By the time we arrived, I had crocheted a decent size piece.

As I folded it, it resembled a bag. Then, a little voice behind me said, "Can I please have it as my shoulder bag? I need a white one." That was my daughter. I responded, "Of course," and she was thrilled.

Today, she excitedly handed me a chain taken from her old bag and a lace for embellishment.

Inspired me to sew by hand.

I sewed the lace at the top, so it peeked out when the cover was closed.

Next, I folded and sewed the sides to form a bag shape.

I securely attached the chain.

Lacking a button, I used a ringpull from a sausage and beans can! I broke it off and ensured there were no sharp edges.

I crocheted around it, pleased with the outcome.

I then attached it and created a loop to hook around it as a closure.

Considering durability and privacy, I thought an inner lining would be beneficial.

I had a cream-colored fabric with a print, which I turned inside out, hoping the print wouldn't be too noticeable.

I added a pocket as an extra feature.

The lining with a pocket!

I sewn it inside the crochet bag neatly.

After everything was completed, I tried it on and found it surprisingly comfortable to carry.

I excitedly handed it to my daughter, who couldn't wait to receive it.

She filled it with some essentials: a phone, pen, paper, mirror, comb, and lip gloss. I was impressed that it all fit with room to spare!

She wore it and was very happy with it.

I am quite pleased myself as it's my first crochet bag! That's all she wanted: a simple, plain white bag with lace.

Perfect for any color attire this springtime.

Wishing everyone a day full of creativity and fun!

Mariah 💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Super pretty, with excellent photos, and I loved the creativity you used when choosing the materials. The finish is very delicate and beautiful. Congratulations!

Thank you so much for the appreciation, I am glad you noticed the attention to detail in the material and creativity. Your feedback means a lot to me. 😊

 last month  

It looks pretty nice.
I think it is original the way you put the accesories.
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the lovely feedback and for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate it. 😊

I loved it.... Thank you very much for sharing. And the idea of using the ring from the can seemed great to me 😊😁👍.

You're very welcome! I'm glad you found the idea of using the ring from the can to be great. Thank you. 😊👍

Beautiful wallet, the fabric and color makes it very elegant, happy day.

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm pleased that you find the wallet elegant. 😊

It is wonderful to spend these moments of travel knitting and to be able to achieve a beautiful piece.

Absolutely, it is wonderful and fulfilling. Thank you for the lovely comment. 😊

Awww cuddlekitten, you are soooo cute! 🥰