From Practice to Cozy Cat Mat

I've been getting a bit obsessed with crocheting using the smallest needle, so I thought I needed a little break and decided to use the biggest one instead. I find that a change of routine can be refreshing.

Switching between extremes in our routines teaches us to adapt, be creative, appreciate balance, and become more resilient. It's like stretching our muscles—challenging but ultimately strengthening. It helps us grow and understand ourselves better.

I saw this hook at a sewing shop and bought it.

Not knowing how it would turn out, I got myself four rolls of bargain yarn in only two colors: brown and apricot. I didn't mind, as it was just for practice.

The material is soft and looks like a net when unfurl.

I did my crocheting while chilling with the big hook!

I practiced a basketweave pattern. It's satisfying to pull through that very chunky yarn. Using a big hook is more relaxing.

Since my cat, Coco, has been watching me, I decided to turn my project into a window sill mat. She always sits by the window, so I would make it worthwhile for her, as she's a good house cat. The material was just enough. I managed to add a brown finish around the edge.

I crocheted a cat face appliqué and added some embroidery stitches to personalize it.

I attached it to the mat.

Trial time. Oops—she loves it! Now her little bottom and feet are warm.

She lazes on it.

and she's gone territorial and doesn't want anyone touching her mat.

I never knew I was making a cat mat! Crochet is a versatile and rewarding hobby. Every project can turn into something unexpectedly wonderful.

Happy Monday to all, filled with creativity and love!

Mariah 💖

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

What I loved the most was your companion, and of course your custom rug especially for him, I congratulate you for your purchase and for your project.

Thank you ☺️ Coco is an amazing cat. I appreciate your lovely comment.

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last month  

I really like your proyect, it looks so nice and I can notice your cat loved it.
Thanks so much for sharing.

Thank you for the lovely comment, yes she does love it and I am very pleased. ☺️