Handcrafted Easter Bunny from a Baby Onesie

in NeedleWorkMonday2 months ago (edited)

A few days ago, I spotted baby clothes hanging in the charity shop and thought they would be perfect to turn into a bunny, a lovely addition to our Easter festivities.

So, I bought it for £3.50.

Last night, I felt motivated to craft. Just as I started, my sewing machine needle broke, and I had no replacement needle. I was disappointed, but I was determined to create.

So I continued sewing by hand.

Firstly, I cut the baby onesie into pieces, separating the arms, legs, and ears.

Then, I shaped the face and body, working with the small material to optimize the design.

Though sewing by hand was trickier than I anticipated, I found I had more control over the project.

I pieced together the material to ensure there was enough width for the head.

Sewing the extremities, stuffing them, and then attaching them to the body, leaving a small hole at the bottom for the stuffing.

Similarly, I attached the ears to the head and left a hole for stuffing. Once all the pieces were connected and in place, I closed the body with hand stitches, securing them every inch to make any accidental openings easy to repair.

Stuffing it was fun, just like turning it into life.

Putting it all together was exciting; I couldn't wait to see the result. The bunny turned out a bit funny with long arms and a big chest, but I wanted a cute girl little bunny, so I adjusted the arms and managed to tweak the body with just a few stitches.

Adding a ribbon reminded me of Hello Kitty, although she's a bunny!

Despite the setback with the sewing machine, I successfully transformed the old baby clothes into something new and adorable.

I was pleased with the result, and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire project.

If you have any baby clothes lying around, consider transforming them into cherished keepsakes. We've welcomed her as a new member of the family, and everyone adores her. We named her kiki, and she's just so cute!

I hope you enjoyed reading about my sewing adventure.

Have a wonderful Monday, everyone, filled with creativity and joy.
Mariah 💗

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

This looks so good
You really did a lot of stuffing
I’m glad it came out good
This was really creative of you, great job
Welcome to the family, Kiki

Thank you for the kind comment, I really appreciate it. Yes I'm glad it came out ok, at one point I thought I'd waste it.

You’re welcome

You're quite the sewing wizard...as well as a cooking wizard and crochet and foraging and baking and cosmetic making, but your financial wizardry may need some honing. £3.50? The tag says £3.00... You were robbed!:)

Haha, you clever, observant woman! I guess my eyes are going? Or probably a typo error? haha! Excuses excuses! Story of my life, I am always robbed and careless with numbers! Haha. Well, round it off to £3. Haha 😂"

 2 months ago  

It was really a good idea to transform the baby garment into a pretty bunny .
The final result is so nice, thanks for sharing this project with us.

Thank you for your kind comment. :)

great work ! :)