My First Crochetted Earrings and Necklace Set

First attempt at using fine crochet needles and fine yarn.

My hubby surprised me with a set of crochet needles, and I never knew that very fine ones existed. It was 30 years ago when I learned the basics at school, and just recently, this group inspired me to crochet again :), thank you.

I was very attracted to the fine ones, so I decided to buy yarn from this cute sewing shop in Cheltenham called "The Sewing Box". The lady owner was lovely and very helpful.

Yesterday, before bedtime, I decided to play with my crochet needles, and I found it very entertaining. It is easier than DK threads to pull through.

Firstly, I made the flowers. I used my bookmark pattern, and I was amazed by how small it turned out. So, I thought it would be good for earrings.

I tried to decide on which and how to embellish it.

I chose pearls for the middle and a champagne crystal dangling from the bottom of the flower.

Then I attached them, along with the beads and earring hooks.

The earrings.

Then, I thought I might as well make a necklace.
I crocheted three flowers and attached them together.

I initially made crochet chain but I thought a silver chain is better.

I added a pearl and champagne bead dangle from the middle flower to pair with the earrings.

I revised the chain and the adjustable lock with a dangling leaf.

The necklace.

The pattern I used is from my bookmark pattern. It is a straightforward one. I used hook number 1.4 and 3-cord cotton yarn.

I started with a magic ring.

Then double crochet.

Chain 3.

Pickle stitch at the bottom to create the texture effect.

Repeat 12 times.

Tighten the magic ring. Secure the ends.

I've treated myself to a lovely set of crocheted earrings and a necklace, and I'm really pleased with how they turned out.

All in all, I seem to like crocheting with the small hooks and small threads; they are easier to handle than I expected.

Thanks for your time.

Have a wonderful Monday, Everyone!

Mariah 😊

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Hola. Siempre me ha llamado la atencion el crochet, pero la verdad no me he animado a aprender. Pero se que se hacen cosas hermosisimas. Yo trate de aprender cuando era adolecente. Mi madre me compro las materiales, pero no me motive. Quizas un dia de estos lo haga. Saludos y gracias por compartir. Te quedaron fabulosas y bellas.

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is never too late to give it another try. It is very rewarding. Best wishes. 😊

What a nice set of earrings a combination of colors to combine with everything, I also learned a little bit of crochet with my mom and since that time I always try to make something nice. Your husband is spoiling you a lot I congratulate you both, a big hug 😘🤗❤️

Thank you for your kind words! Pleased that you like the earrings, and crochet is such a lovely skill to have. Yes, my husband has been thoughtful :), Sending hugs back to you! 😊❤️

What a nice crochet work, I didn't know that crochet work can be so beautiful in earing and necklace, this is so beautiful and nice, I love it well done dear

Thank you very much! It's a wonderful craft to explore, and delighted that you like them and find it beautiful. Your kind words mean a lot! 😊

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @theworldaroundme.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

This is so beautiful and how I wish there was something like the sewing box at where I live
The necklace came out so beautiful and I am absolutely in love.

It is lovely to hear that you love the necklace, I wish you that you have the same shop there too, I can tell that you love crochet and are passionate about it.