Making A Piece As Versatile As Me

The @needleworkmonday community is undoubtedly one of my favourites on hive. When I became active around this time last year, I discovered this community that made me get back to sewing which I had abandoned for two years. It's very thrilling to see a community with like-minded people appreciate what you do. It's even more fun to see others share their sewing and DIY ideas, I've learnt a few tricks here.

Thanks to OCD for highlighting one of my favourites this week and even making it a two-week long contest. I didn't know until today, I wouldn't have rushed up my project last night. I made this piece that represents my simple, fun and chic nature. It's a smocked top that took me hours to finish contrary to how easy I thought it would be to finish.

20210416_112059.jpg

The Making

I marked my chest line, waist and full length of top measurements on the folded fabric, adding 3 inches allowance and cut out. I made two of this for the front and back bodice.

20210410_095640.jpg

Next, I folded and sewed the neckline and hem of the front and back piece.

20210411_163124.jpg

I began the smocking process by replacing the bobbin thread with an elastic thread. I sewed horizontal lines across the whole top, both front and back pieces.

20210411_172628.jpg

20210415_180354.jpg

20210415_221010.jpg

I then joined the two pieces to get my final look

20210415_222155.jpg

It can be styled in several ways depending on the look you're going for.

20210416_112048.jpg

20210416_111938.jpg

20210416_113756.jpg

20210416_113743.jpg

My absolute favourite thing about this is the comfort and how it's perfect for the hot weather. I can't wait to wear this in even more ways. A versatile cute top just like me 🥰

This is my entry to this week's OCD Community Boost Contest

Sort:  

This was such a fun entry! I really enjoyed reading and seeing the process of your smock top.

I can’t believe how versatile it is, that’s quite impressive! I love the different ways you showed it could be worn and adding the sunglasses as a prop :D

You look so cute and I bet you are really excited to wear it this Summer.

Simple, fun and chic...yep that makes two of us! ❤️

Thanks for your entry ~

Thanks for reading. I really I'm excited to wear it

For sure ;)

I love gathered tops, and this one is super versatile!

 3 years ago  

Nice 😍. I loved that it can be used as a top and skirt. I also want one of these, I have a spool of elastic thread but I never dared to use it. How did you calculate the total length of the fabric?

I used my measurements. My bust is 38 inches wide, then I added 3 inches extra for the width. For the length I simply measured from where I wanted the top to start and end on my body

 3 years ago  

Ok, I'll try it that way. Thank you ❤️.

 3 years ago  

And I totally agree! It is truly a versatile cute top for a versatile cute girl like you! :) I love the style, the choice of fabric and the colours, and I love the way you model it too. Your character shines in it :)

Thanks for your sweet words

untitled.gif

Wow that elastic thread has really twisted it well and so neat, and its suits you perfectly well i must confess 😁😜

This is really beautiful.

And what an effort to come up with this in the space of a week...
Lemme start following your footsteps.

Thank God I check oooo..

I have been wondering how the smoking is done. I trued fixing the smoking thread into the needle but it wasn't passing through. I never knew that it was to pass through the bobbing.
Needlework community is really teaching me alot, I get to see new things everyday