A Crochet Beanie Courtesy of The Season.

in NeedleWorkMonday5 months ago

Hola a todos🌼

Compliments of the season to all the needlework lovers in the house. As always, It's an amazing feeling to share my needlework with everyone.

20231226_191809_0000.png
Edited on canva

A few months ago, the question "which season of the year is your favourite season?". I wanted to say the winter (harmattan) season but I pressed hard on my brakes and decided to wait for harmattan to come once again just so I was clear.

IMG_20231225_143848_134~2.jpg
Now the season is upon us and I'm certain that this isn't exactly my favourite because of the dust and dryness that accompanies the season. Maybe it could pose as the second favourite.
sep14.png

IMG_20231223_121104_687~2.jpg

Due to certain global changes, the season has been a bit different. Usually, the three characteristics that signify harmattan are dryness, dust and extreme cold. But now, the cold part of the season seems to be on a vacation. Not to over exaggerate but I've experienced only two cold days throughout this period; one was earlier this month and the second cold day happened to be yesterday.

This isn't so bad because yesterday actually inspired me to make something, a beanie. Beanies are worn on the head to help us keep warm and so I got to work.

IMG_20231223_225743_957~2.jpg

Making this beanie came with mixed feelings. The very first crochet project I tried out was a beanie. Yes, a beanie and need I tell you that the beanie was a mess. I knew nothing about measurements, stitches and patterns or handling yarns with care, so the beanie came out very rough and was a bit tight for a regular beanie. Nonetheless, my siblings who were really happy for me decided to wear the beanie like nothing was wrong with it.

IMG_20231223_225710_651~2.jpg
Here I am, twelve months later, trying it out again. I wonder why it took me so long? Maybe I was just working on perfecting my skills.

For this beanie, I started with forty six stitches since I was working lengthwise. After making the first round of stitches I went ahead and started making the rows in the back loops only. I must confess that I really like crocheting in back loops only because the outcome of the project always has this beautiful pattern to it.

I used half double crochet stitches for the greater portion of the beanie and for the last five stitches, I used single crochet stitches. Why? You may wonder. I did this to prevent the beanie from being too folded at the top.

IMG_20231225_130431_268~2.jpg
Paying attention to the little details and ensuring that I entered into every loop to prevent my beanie from slanting, I kept stitching. Another major inspiration to make the beanie was a picture of a friend.

IMG_20231225_130501_456~2.jpg

After the completion of the body of the beanie, I made a line of single crochet stitches round the end of the beanie. This was the end that was going to be left open.

IMG_20231225_160159_818~2.jpg
Once I was done with this, I went ahead to join the both sides of the beanie and also close up the top of the beanie. All of these were done on the wrong side.

IMG_20231225_160211_309~2.jpg

Afterwards I turned to the right side and the beanie looked really adorable. I also liked the colour very much although it isn't a dark colour. What do you think of it superstar @tengolotodo?

IMG_20231225_143712_724~2.jpg

sep14.png
With this, I was done with the beanie and in the spirit of Christmas I look forward to gifting it out to a person with a head that fits, hehe.



All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.



Love, Wongi 🌼

Sort:  

Oh I love it and that is one thing I can make!
This looks almost golden in colour!
So yes I love it and merry Christmas my wee imp!

Yessss, the golden colour really stands out.

And certainly, I saw a glimpse of yours some time ago😊

Hehe I need to knock one up this weekend ...

Another beanie?

Yes you choose the colour

Woaaaaah..
Purple🤸

It's looking cute and I can understand that you gave a lot of effort to make it. May be it's easy for you to make as you are expert in this case but not easy at least for me.
!PIZZA
!LUV

Whenever you're ready to learn, you could always let me know😄

!LUV

intishar, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

This crochet cap is really looking beautiful. I love it, mostly the color of the fabric you used

I'm glad you do. Thank you so much😊

!LUV

mosupholstery, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 186 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @wongi, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

I’m so in love with the color,the pattern is really smooth too.

Thank you so much dear. 😊

Lovely color, looks so fancy❤️

Thank you so much

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@wongi, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @afrikablr and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

This looks really good. Looking forward to having one from you.

Oh are you🙃untitled.gif