Crochet Sunflower Summer Top

Summer has come (though it's only dry and wet season here in the Philippines) I always get excited about it coming. Yet I doubt everyone else still because climate change had made summer too hot these days causing heat index to surge into the danger level.

Anyway, enough of that, let me share with you the Sunflower Summer Top I recently made and I love how it turned out! It suits summer and this made me wish that I live near the white sane beaches where lots of tourists visits so I could sell them my handiwork.

I love how my crochet top turned out!

But would I dare wear this outside?

Have you ladies worn as sexy as this outside especially on the beach? I haven't and I would not dare too also especially now that I had gained so much weight and diet is really hard to do.


Here's how I made my crochet sunflower top.

It's been a while since I last made a bikini top and I honestly doubted myself if I am still able to make a pair of bra pads of identical sizes so I made two at time and did it alternately and I kept on checking whether they have the same sizes or not. It may sound funny but It's an awesome way to keep my project look good.

Here are some shots I took as I took breaks while crocheting.

I am very inspired to do this project and I don't know why but my hand was fast to do the stitches and found myself locking up one of the last stitch and cutting the yarn off.

I only used a single yarn cake, soft indophil yarn and pulled out the inner edge and the outer edge of yarns to do both of
the bra pads at the same time.


For the lower part I decided not to go plain and made granny sunflowers.

I can't remember where I got the pattern but here's how I did it:

I took a black yarn for the center of the flower and made 8 double crochets on a magic circle, fastened off and cut the yarn.

For the petals, I made three chains after attaching the yellow yarn to the black circle, looped one and did not finish the next double crochet, looped again and pulled through all four yarns on the hook, chained two and did a puff stitch on the next chain one space.

Then to make the flower into a granny square, I finished it off with the same yarn by adding alternating three double crochets, and three double crochet, chain two, three double crochets on each chain two spaces.

This is the first granny flower I made and got satisfied with my work and made some more.

You see, I have learned some technique about attaching granny squares at one time and I doubt if I could explain it clearly here. So I better not because it might only give you all confusion.

I love how the belt looked, summery and attractive

Now that the belt is ready, I planned how to attach the bra cups to them and being on the center is one of the main purpose.

To clean off my work and give a fine finish, I rounded my work with a single crochet with the one loop I did not cut in the earlier stage of the project. When I reached the top portion of the bra cup, I chained 100 and came back to the bottom with a slip stitch and went on to the next, attaching and securing the two on the center. I also added a string on the second bra cup and finished on the edge. The next thing I did was attach the belt and bra cup by doing a single crochet, then pulling the working loop through the adjacent stitch for attachment.

I have done this plenty of times already and it gives a fine finish as always. I am very satisfied with my work and I am happy of how my project turned out!


I was very excited to put it on though I know I could not wear it outside. But this does a great sample for those who would like me to make them one.

I planned on making a skirt of the same granny flower pattern to pair it with and I hope I could do it sooner that anticipated.

After trying them on, I kept it with my other yarns. I suppose I should make the skirt first before posting them fro sale or made to order.


So , what do you think, do you like the piece I made? What colors might go well with this kind of project?

Sort:  

Very nice! Those flower grannys bring it to life. Big hugs.

It definitely did! The colors complimented each other

Very nice crochet project! I'm new to the world of crochet and I loved knowing how to make this style of clothing. Thank you for this tutorial, it made me want to start making a little summer top! I think you chose the colors very well, it looks really good! 👍

Hello dear crocheter! I love your work, although here comes the cold and you get the heat, but your project is fantastic! I'm very intrigued by the way you join the grannys, although it's better if you don't explain it, but it intrigues me so much that I'll look for a video.

On the other hand, of course you should dare to wear it, I also felt very shy with my first crochet top, but once on the beach I dared without hesitation and the truth is that above all, comfort, not so much the sexy, but I felt that it showed a lot and on the beach there is no such concept haha.

I send you a big hug, I hope to see the matching skirt !

I'd love to know where you're from my dear. I guess I'll be starting with the skirt then and secure a video on how l joined the grannies One thing that stops me from uploading here though is that threespeak uploading is hard for me.

Sure, my friend ! I am from Argentina, the southernmost country in South America. I hope to see the skirt, even you do it in photos. Threespeak is just as difficult for me, don't worry, I send you a big hug! 😊

Why does it look so easy when i'm watching it. But I know its hard, gosh. This is so pretty, what's more amazing is it is handmade and you have your own touch in it. Ang galing 👏👏🤩

It looks so pretty
I love the style You used to bring the sunflowers together
Simple tutorial, I love it

your top is so beautiful. the yellow color really pops against the gray. it's perfect!