Making my way back to Crochet

Crochet used to be my peace, my therapy, and my happiness until one day I lost the motivation to do so.

It heaved my heart, and I tried my best to get back to it yet nothing good happened. It's very hard to lose interest in the things that you love; it feels like losing a part of you.

Perhaps I was just very disappointed with myself for not making anything beautiful like I used to before.

It's been months since I last did a real crochet project so today, I decided to get back on track, maybe I just need to push myself even harder. Sales will follow, and that's what I had been worrying about.

In my last purchase of brand-new yarns over a year ago, I was not paying attention to colors, all I wanted at that time was for me to have different colors of yarn, maybe it's the inner child in me healing) after all, who does not like colorful yarns? I guess my crochet sisters would agree with me on this. However, I did not realize that some projects would require more than two cakes of yarns and my choices do not fit my need. But what's gone is gone and I have to utilize it all in small projects so I could make room for new ones.

Hopefully, this coming December, I will be able to buy the yarns I need and by next year, I will busy myself making projects for sale.


To motivate myself more, I followed lots of crochet patterns and ideas on Facebook where I was hoping to see free pattern projects to make soon and I was looking back at my crochetworks in my gallery.

I may have posted these photos here in Hive before and I could not remember when. One thing is for sure, the photos are mine and they are all my handiworks, my Obramaestra, and my success, and my happiness.

A crochet Bikini top I made in November last year

Some random crochet pattern I followed on Pinterest and the stitch turned out pretty well on my first try.

The first ever, full of mistakes crochet shawl I made

Making this shawl had been a huge struggle, a huge challenge I gave myself since it was my first time making a big project but at that time, I had high spirits in crocheting. I remember I sleep at 3 am to try and finish my work and then go to work during that time,

Every color change makes me even more motivated to finish my work and the people around me drool about what I made. I took my project to my workplace and at home, rushing to finish it on an unset deadline, and then success, huge happiness I felt after finishing my work.

Croptops/ wearables

When I got longer in the crochet world, I developed a love for making crochet wearables; I loved how beautiful they were but I just couldn't wear them out; afraid of showing my skin and my imperfections so here I was, trying on y work with fabric under.

Here's another piece of top I made and this time, my hubby found me old mannequins to have a better show and display. Jenny, my co-worker bought this and I gave it to her at a very low price.

Here's a piece my child's teacher bought; I made it with lots of fringes because she requested for something to cover her tummy.

Another piece I sold to my co-worker, Irene. She gave it to her daughter and she wore it on an outing once.

I spent a few hours following a free YouTube tutorial on this piece, it had lots of flaws but is not so noticeable.

I made another two of the same pattern for my daughters for swimming

This Orange top I made is also from a free youtube pattern called clam top. Teh top indeed resembles a clam!

Thsi Rasta-colored bikini is a special request made by an old classmate from high school. I added a bra pad underneath it and I am pretty proud of how neat my work is in incorporating the pad

Bikini Botton to pair it with

The bikini top and bottom are accompanied by this bikini cover which makes anyone even sexier in their bikini!

Sorry about the photos, I was an amateur back then (until now) and I still have a lot to learn in photography and style.

I loved how my red bikini cover turned out to be and made another set in black; It's gorgeous!

Also, I fell in love with the neon-colored bikini I saw and made one of my own.

This bikini shorts is stunning!

There were times when I also made dresses for my kids aiming to make them a wardrobe of these, but my plan was not realized.

This blue dress I made for my daughter was handed by my husband to her niece and she loved it!

Daughter loved this pale pink dress I made for her but up until now, I was not yet able to incorporate it with a fabric underneath so it will be wearable anywhere.

I also made crochet earings stiffened with glue; It turned out so pretty and gave it to my co-worker. I love how it dangles!

Hats

I also made hats of different colors and styles. I gave my mom, my mother-in-law, and her sister one each and I had a good sales with it.

Forgive my haggard face


These hats are for kids

These ones were sold to pharmacy attendants

I tried making Luffy's hat in One Piece anime

Bags

I made lots of bags in different shapes and sizes, Some I sold and some I made for myself but only a few remained. I am guessing I made them feet to hide or perhaps they had my shyness because they don't want me to use them.

This is an amigurumi bag keychain I made when I was starting crochet

A sling bag I made for the pharmacy attendant

Cellphone pouches I made

Greg requested this cover for his tablet.

Thommy bought this bumblebee-colored coin purse with drawstrings

My not-so-tulip-looking bag

My very fist mesh bag, which I didn't get to use also.

Coin Purses

Trust me, Smaller coin purses are harder to incorporate zipper with.

And I thought metal clasp would make teh job faster but I was so wrong

Facemasks

The pandemic came and facemasks became a trend

I made some for my daughters

And made some more for me

Headbands

The manager requested this customized headband for his son's gift for a debutant.

Rasta-colored things are always best-selling

Pink ones for girls and I added flowers to make it more pretty

Some more of the headbands!

Awww, this makes me miss my long hair


Daughter looks o cute on a sunflwoer headband

Toys!

I once read that babies in NICUs needs octopus toys because they encourage them to move; it feels like umbilical cord and will make them better.


I tried my best in amigurumi, but decreasing is still a challenge for me

Bear's nose is a huge challenge too

My son enjoying his unfinished toy

Other accessories and blings

Crochet is too wide, there is so much to learn and do; and it makes me envy crocheters too, but not in a bad way though


Oh, those were a lot! I made lots of things na pala and I hope it will stir deep inside me to get my hands back into crocheting again.

I wish to do more beautiful things and celebrate every little success I had in my needlework, as well as earn money in any way possible.


If you got this far, thank you so much for your time and support.

This post is also for me to get more motivated in doing the things I love.

This will be all for now, I hope to see you again soon.

Keep safe and stay happy!



All images and texts used in this blog are my own unless stated otherwise.




made in canva

Sort:  

Way to go to your Crochet projects Sis dami na pala....I suggest crocheting that are quick and easy or small items like earrings and incorporate it with beads also neckpieces so it can be sold right away, earn from it. I search in Pinterest for more crochet inspirations.

you are one of my inspirations sis, and one more thing, I miss posting about crochet in needlework community too. I've been occupied by lots of things I had been juggling lately

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yoieuqudniram.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your work looks great, I wish you the best In getting your inspiration back.

Have you tried watching some more YouTube videos?

No, I didn't lately. I got busy for work and life. I tried focus on Hive and that's when I felt something is missing

sana all nalang jud sa kaanad and kanice oi

Buyag buyag sis, haha, mayutag mabalik na nako pohon nya daghag halin hehe. makalingaw baya labig daghan mag palit ba