NaPodPoMo/HivePodPoMo 2021 Day 17: Risking it all

in NaPodPoMo2 years ago

I am doing #NaPodPoMo (National Podcast Posting Month), aka #HivePodPoMo, that was started by @epodcaster.

Last night we went to see Michael Spicer do his live comedy show in Cambridge. That was funny, but he also talked about how his precence online had boomed when some of his tweets 'went viral'. Today I ramble on about that topic. I also talk about Hive and how you do not have to get massive just to make something, unlike some of the other platforms.

Nice of Mr Spicer to reply to me tweeting about seeing him.

I had thought I would talk about how we got there, but I skipped over that. We took the train which meant driving to Letchworth as it is not on our local line. The train is not too crazy expensive, but the parking charge was excessive for an evening. They really ought to be encouraging people to use the train, but then make it cost so much more than driving.

You can hear the podcast here.

Sort:  

Let's make this post go viral!

Awesome that you are keeping up the daily podcast Steve.

Agreed!

Reblogged and Tweeted it!

My wife and I took the train to Chicago one time from Michigan. It wasn't horrible, but it would be nice if it were faster. They need to do something to improve the infrastructure to make it a more desirable mode of transportation. I honestly think we spent as much time stopped as we did moving. It was mind numbing.

It can be a matter of convenience. If we fly it can mean the hassle of getting out of town to the airport and lots of waiting around. Within the UK it ought to be viable to take the train rather than flying, but then it can work out a lot more expensive. I know you have much bigger distances to travel in the US.

True, I would think over in Europe a train would be the way to go. The UK seems pretty compact that you could travel on the train quite a bit. I was really interested in the Hyperloop when Elon was talking about that. The Chicago to Columbus to Philly leg would have been awesome. Philly to Chicago in 90 minutes? Sign me up!

I wonder if anything will come of the Hyperloop. Building that sort of infrastructure is expensive and disruptive, but then the railways opened up the US early on. A lot of our lines got shut down some years back. We have Victorian tunnels and bridges that might not handle faster new trains. There is currently debate about new lines to link up the cities. Whatever happens we seem to end up with more roads that soon fill up.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.