You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Primitive manufacturing: my first wood fired kiln.

in Build-It3 years ago

That's certainly an interesting project!
We don't have any clay where I'm living right now. I think there was some clay below the topsoil where I used to live, but I'm not sure because I mostly ran into it while digging post holes. If I was going to build a kiln here, I think I would have to use bricks.

Sort:  

Looking through some of your previous posts, it looks like you could process some clay from your soil, but you don't seem to have a mountain of dirt to go digging through. Any kind of primitive clay firing is probably going to scare a few of your neighbors, it's a lot of smoke and fire!

For less than the cost and hassle of building a kiln from brick, you could probably find someone to bring you a load of heavy clay soil for pretty cheap. Any contractor who does excavation spends at least a little time looking for someplace to dump fill they can't use, and wet clay will almost always fall into that category.

If you really want to take on a project like this, let me know how you would prefer to build it, and I could probably find you some links to info that would help in your endeavor.

Thanks! I've thought about a couple of these kind of things to build in the yard that are normally built out of clay. If I decide to go ahead with one of those things, I'll let you know.