My new toy - workshop

in Build-It3 years ago

I have a dream, to one day have a properly fitted out workshop with the best of tools and keep it neat and tidy. For now, I will have to settle for a small office that I have cooped into a workspace. It is not much but during Covid and while I am not sculpting it has been a Godsend.

In my last studio workshop, we had a break-in and all my tools were nicked. It has taken till now to replace them. I pride myself in getting a bargain and I am now the proud owner of this Titan table saw. I actually still have my fathers one but that is big and very inaccurate. This one, with some of my own modification, should be a step up.

I am working on a wood project at the moment and I figured I would price this into the job. As it's cost will save me time in the end and as we all know time is money.

I bought it from a company called Powerfix. (Not a sponsor) and found it on their Website for €120 which is ridiculously cheap for even the materials that went into making it. After doing some YouTubing to check reviews I was happy to see that they all seemed pretty positive so I clicked the buy button. Unfortunately, It was unavailable, Brexit and Covid have really messed up the supply chains.

I figured I would just let it go and work out how to do my job with the tools I had on hand. As I drove to my workshop I passed by a Powerfix shop just a big delivery truck was pulling up. I didn't think much of it until I was just about to go to bed last night. Before I turned off my computer I figured I would check just one last time and low n' behold the website showed that they had one saw at that branch. I bought it immediately and picked it up this morning.

Now, I still have to put all it together, it came like Ikea furniture but when I do it will make it so much easier to create the mitres to fit this 'Thing' together. But that is a story for another post.

Sort:  

Yay for new equipment!

Small office is better than no workshop at all I guess?

Although very cheap I am very happy with it. It means my woodworking will become a bit more precise and as for the studio. It is so nice to a space I can call my own. Kind of,
!ENGAGE15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It looks like a good plan. I can't wait to see what comes out of this workshop.

Most of the things, for now, are just construction of plant fixtures but it is cool to have the right space and tools that I can take n more adventurous jobs.
!ENGAGE15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yeah that's great news, new workshop and tools. I'm very happy for you @ammonite, I know that this has been a long time coming xxxx

It is far from ideal but 'Any post in a storm' as they say. So nice to have somewhere to make that is not the dinner table.
!ENGAGE15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.