fixing my medieval door/ mystical portal!

in Build-It2 years ago (edited)

Dear Building Friends...

This is a huge project - not sooo hard physically or strategically, but deeply symbolic and meaningful, as I rejig my house to a far better energetic harmony solution! I am changing the lower street, pedestrian Via, door to be my front door - instead of the one at the top-back of the house, which has a buzzer, intercom and leafs into a shared corridor.

The door beforehand was recently painted... it has had many different colours, and a big mural over the past 13 yrs - and now I'm tidying it up for selling...

I had multiple ideas about which screws, bolts and drill-bits might be needed, but had to change tac multiple times as I was scuppered by incredibly hard medieval wood and suchlike.

These are the final screws decided upon! It took much of an hour, between false starts and dead-ends, to get all the right screws for the holes, and to give the postbox and bolt I was adding a solid enough hold on the ancient door.

I stopped regularly to sip tea, of course; this is a vital aspect of my approach - not rushing into any phase of the work, and ruminating a lot to get just the right, harmonious solution.

It was a great joy to get the box firmly positioned: this is an important step in my clarifying my sovereignty, and defending my home to mischief from e.g. utilities companies - who worldwide are stepping up their war of attrition on all living women and men... (Listen into my Art Of Life podcast if you're interested in #NaturalLaw #sovereignty and #autonomy!)

The old-school bolt was sitting around in a box since I bought the house... I love old things like this, so beautifully crafted, and I'd been thinking for a while that it'd help secure this side of the door.

It was a bit messy finding the right spot for this, too! A few holes that were perfectly solid, but then the fourth one didn't secure well - had to move the whole thing further inwards on the door.

And then make a hole in the super-hard cement for it to sit in and lock. And a wee nail above to keep it open, as it slides down with its own weight.

The hole for this bottom bolt, I later found out, secures it too neatly - I will have to make the hole slightly further back inside the room, to allow the door to line up with the bolt on the outside, which I use to lock the door when I'm down the garden.

Lots more to do on the door! It is predicted to be a very cold winter, and I need to weatherproof this door in particular: it has big gaps all around it and allows in the cold wind.... Looking forward to getting it all snug and cosy!

Much love to you all in your creative endeavours!
Clare.

Sort:  

For you to do all these,it's a top notch from you Buddy. Keep it up and keep doing it yourself!🥂

I appreciate very much, all the encouragement - it is a challenging time indeed, but always deeply fulfilling as we master lots of skills, eh!

You are welcome! Cheers!🥂

You did all this yourself 🥰 , wow you are pretty good 👍.