New area of mud house finished

in Build-It2 months ago

Picking up from where i last blogged about the window placing of the hut here i share with you some further progress.

A nice encounter happened on a trip to town as on the way back i met two vegan hitchhikers that were happy to come over and get to know my place, as well as help me out. It is a shame that i was so focused on the build and interacting with them that i didn't take any pictures during their visit. However, if you come accross this post my friends, thanks again!

As i have shared before, the building has continued by making "bricks" from these willow cuttings wrapped in mud. Grass has been integrated into the mixture so it's a new way of cob (new for me, it's probably been done before).

The visitors added most of the cob and bottles while i provided them with material and placed the structural branches that hold everything in place. This allowed us to make quick progress during the afternoon we destined to building.The rest of the time we spent touring around the fields and forests.

If you're wondering why the whole damned affair takes so much time, let me tell you that all materials with the exception of screws are foraged by hand. Here's some pics i took while gathering grass with a machete:

Finally making it to the top, which is a big relief as these nights cool air vented into the house and my mind would constantly alarm me with the idea that a mouse could enter through the gaps.

Ah yes, what a nice thing to be able to turn on the lights at night and not get filled up with mosquitoes and moths. A satisfying labor this has been, and though I would very much like to add the next layers of mud, my Soul is urging me to begin my journeys once more.

It is important to leave before fall arrives as days will get shorter, yet I have a hard time leaving this place behind and end up entertaining myself through the days.

Anyways, are you ready to see this turn into a travel blog, visiting the lesser known and non-touristic places of the world?

Sort:  

For sure! Yes, bring on the travel stories! I can't wait to hear a bit about the less frequently visited places, especially from your corner of the world!

Nice thanks for those good vibes!

Ah yes, what a nice thing to be able to turn on the lights at night and not get filled up with mosquitoes and moths. A satisfying labor this has been

Nice one! Well done and cool to hear you had some unexpected guests helping out.

Anyways, are you ready to see this turn into a travel blog, visiting the lesser known and non-touristic places of the world?

Definitely! Looking forward to the next step in your journey :^)

I had a feeling your eye would be caught by the word mosquito hahaha thanks bro

Interesting construction.

Thanks 👍

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Grateful 🙏