Get A Grip! A new handle for an old pail.

in Build-It3 years ago

Hello, fellow earthlings, I hope you are well! Today's post will be a simple DIY repair that I think many people will find handy. If you've been in the DIY game for any length of time at all, you've probably already realized the joys of using 5 gallon buckets. They're easy to get, inexpensive even if you have to buy them, and the internet is full of useful ideas you can use them for. Because I do road striping at work, I get access to a lot of free empty 5 gal buckets every season. Most of them are plastic, but a few are metal, and the metal ones are handy for a range of fire related projects.

Today's post will apply to any bucket with a handle, but I mostly use this repair on plastic buckets. I really like using empty plastic buckets with organizer inserts as tool boxes. The buckets are free, the inserts are cheap, and the buckets I get will take 100 lbs. of weight with no problem. The bucket below has basically every ratchet and socket I ever use, along with extensions, adaptors, and wrenches. It transports easily, and doubles as a pail I can use to carry home spare nuts and bolts, or other recyclable trash. The only thing that I don't like about these buckets is that the white plastic 'grip' on the bucket handle always breaks, and the wire handle hurts my hand when the buckets are this heavy. Fortunately, this is an easy fix.

20210105_131738_HDR.jpg

I like to start off by wrapping the handle with some corrugated cardboard, or other cushioning material. If I'm bothering to put a new grip on a bucket handle, it means that bucket is going to be heavy most of the time, so the more comfortable it is to move around, the better.

20210105_122542_HDR.jpg

When using cardboard, you'll want to make sure you get at least 3 wraps around the handle, otherwise the handle will just quickly tear through the cardboard. I cut this taper on the end so the handle will end up being just a little thicker in the middle.

20210105_122613_HDR.jpg

If you want your new grip to swivel around the handle the way the original plastic grip does, just tape it together and you're good to go! I do not actually care for this feature, especially on heavy buckets, so I tape past the ends of the cardboard right on to the wire handle. This will keep the grip from moving around. Whatever tape is comfortable for you will work well enough. I use masking tape because it's another thing I can get free from work.

20210105_122651_HDR.jpg

For a little extra grip, or just pizazz, you can add some texture by giving it a 'hockey-grip' wrap. To do this, pull out a length of tape and twist it up until it forms a 'rope'.

20210105_122820_HDR.jpg

With masking tape, you can lay this 'rope' across the grip in whatever pattern you like. I just did a simple spiral grip so I would have something slightly more than a simple tape handle grip to post about 😉. Twist up as much tape as you need to make the design you want.

20210105_122918_HDR.jpg

Once you have your texture on, go over everything one more time with the tape, to keep your wrap from unraveling. This won't always be necessary, but it will always be stronger with the extra cover, and it gives a much more finished look. I realize that saying anything looks finished on blue masking tape sounds kind of dumb, but it's too late for me to find better words. Still, you gotta admit, that's a handle that doesn't look too bad to grab.

20210105_131939_HDR.jpg

Even without adding wraps, masking tape grips will take on a texture of their own over time. Duct tape can stay tight and shiny looking for years. I've never tried one with gorilla tape, but I imagine it would be almost like a gel grip. Packing tape will work, but it's unpleasant, and begins to degrade after too much time outside.

20210105_131730_HDR.jpg

As I've aged, I've also found the buckets make handy stools to sit on. I've been trying to think of some clever ways to use the lids a little better, both as seating and storage. If I ever figure something out, I'll be sure to let you all know!

I know this post was a bit short, and perhaps lacking in style. I beg your indulgence, as always, dear reader, that you bear with me through these trying times. Part of the reason I hadn't posted in a while is that I know the quality suffers when I hurry through these because my back's too sore to sit at the computer, or I'm too tired to think of the best way to say 'handle' 50 times in one post without it sounding repetitive. Trying to find the balance between quality and quantity is a treacherous journey, perhaps best left unexplored, but I've always been a fool for adventure.

I hope you continue to join me on this adventure, and I hope you find fulfillment in your own!

Sort:  

I've got a couple buckets that would benefit from this.

It's a great small project for a rainy day.