You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple home composting.

in Build-It3 years ago

Thanks for the interest, glad you enjoyed it! I don't really get a lot of engagement on my posts, generally. I've been told my whole life that I'm cold, unapproachable, and intimidating... apparently those traits somehow manifest through social media as well :D

Congratulations on your continuing compost quest! I would recommend, if you desire to do more gardening, that you plant some things on top of one of your compost piles. With such a nutrient dense base, you can get a lot of produce in a small area. Do a DuckDuckGo search for Square Foot Gardening, and you'll quickly see the many possibilities.

The drum composters are pretty great, and the internet is full of posts that will show you how to build your own from a variety of materials. If you're just trying to not throw away kitchen scraps, you can also compost quite a bit in 5 gallon buckets. Again, there is a bunch of info about that on the internet, and I hope to do a post about it myself someday.

Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you back again!