Farewell Butters [That was Emotional!]

in Build-It5 months ago

Oh wow, that was emotional. I honestly didn't expect to burst into tears this morning as we packed Butters to take her to the freight company for shipping to the UK. Yet here I am, draped across her hood giving her a teary cuddle.

This car has been in our lives for six years now. For the last three or four months we've done something to her every single day - from Jamie redoing the gearbox three times to fitting out the interior to building the pop top. And now we are finished - at least on this end!

IMG_20231215_082258.jpg

My long board fit perfectly, and I made sure I packed around it firmly with the soft furnishings and foam mattresses. It's also secured to the seat with an occy strap.

Who knew a 9 foot surfboard would fit so comfortably? Obviously, it'll go on the roof when we arrive, but everything has to be in the back for it to go into a container.

Then Jamie's SUP went on top of that. I'll be bringing my SUP on the plane with me. At the last minute we were just throwing whatever we remembered in it to sort out at the other end - toilet paper, shampoo bars, snorkles, spare parts - you name it! Crazy.

IMG20231215081321.jpg

It was a relief for Jamie - he's been sick with a cold yet still having to do all this hard work. Poor love. As I write this, he's laying on the couch very happy and tired that he now gets a little break.

I can't quite explain how happy we are to have completed this crazy mission. I have a few more Land Rover posts to share about the completed build but for now, I just wanted to share this joyous news!

We took it up to Melbourne and handed it over to the freight company and handed over the keys - now it's all out of our hands. We'll see it at the other end of Feb in Southampton, UK, where I'm sure we'll have another story about getting it plates in the UK.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Sort:  

Amazing journey! I think it’s such a nice build! I remember the first time I saw it in one pf your posts when it was a work in progress. Hope it will make it smoothly to the other end of this planet 💫

I'm sure it will!! The odds are in her favour.

Hi @riverflows,

The car looks like a small house, inside it has all the necessities, I think the car needs a little modification to provide a swimming pool too. 😂

And a sauna? Great idea.

Looks like you need to try it, completing all the features on the car will make the holiday much more interesting. 😅

Until February….
Finally you have finished it. It was a crazy journey indeed 😎 well done.
Soon the adventures start 🤩

The craziness is only just beginning 😅

Yep… I can imagine… enjoy it all! 🤗

I’m sure the car was tearing as well when you hugged her six years of bonding is a no joke 😂

She WAS leaking a bit of oil... But she pretended she wasn't...

She’d be fine just few touches here and there I hope you enjoy your ride with her

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow, saying goodbye to Butters must've been super emotional!

Six years of memories, that's a real bond. Super cool that you managed to pack up everything for the UK adventure.

Jamie powering through sickness, what a warrior! Can't wait to see your new adventures with Butters over there.

Keep going and sending tons of good vibes for what's ahead! 🚗✨

Thanks! Pretty excited. But for now, a rest!

It was a long, gruelling journey but you've reached the end at last and I'm incredibly happy for you. From now, it's going to be fun-filled and thrilling rides to bask in. All the best, River.🌺

Thanks 💕

I'm confused. Can't keep up...
What's the plan? Are you guys preparing for a lengthy stay in the UK? Surfing in February out there doesn't sound like much fun. Brrrrr

Sending a hug from a sunny, somewhat Winterish but still about 15 Degrees Celsius in the afternoon, Portugal

I like winter surfing. Makes me feel alive!!!!! Prob six months to start. See what happens. But we will leave it there and come back..

Whew! It’s been a long hard road to reach this day, but you made! I bet it’s such a relief for Jamie. How much longer do you 2 keep working at your jobs? Have you found a renter?

Not yet! We will advertise again after Christmas.

Yo! You're on your way soon. Let's arrange to catch up when you land

Sailing away, hope your reunion will be as happy as the departure (tears of joy, not relief after all the work entailed), have a wonderful Christmas!

I'll definitely cry .. it's my modus operandi! Happy Christmas to you also x

Excellent vehicle to get into remote places, enjoy!

Shit, I thought you'd sold her after reading the title. I hope she's not too scared to go out boating for a while.

I know right? Love me some click bait...

I remember not too long ago reading about butters and now I was like :O Is butters done? you pulled a fast one on me with that title :P

Haha gotta love clickbait!