How To Make Button Hoop On A Dress

in Build-It4 years ago

IMG_20201027_154625_765.jpg

Button hoops are necessary for when you don't want to insert a zipper on a dress. I always thought it was just a design until I saw it was really just functional. It creates enough space for the head to pass through the dress and you button it up. I decided to go with a button hoop for the back of this baby dress and here's how I made it.

First, I cut a piece of the fabric 2 by 1 inch

IMG_20201027_151936_102.jpg

Next, I folded the fabric at the middle

IMG_20201027_152314_719.jpg

I folded again into two

IMG_20201027_152524_158.jpg

I then sewed along the edge of the folded part to close the open edge

IMG_20201027_152904_352.jpg

After sewing, I folded into two and crossed one end on to the other securing with a stitch

IMG_20201027_153437_946.jpg

IMG_20201027_153701_605.jpg

I made an opening on the dress for where the hoop is meant to be and then sewed it in place

IMG_20201027_154024_704.jpg

IMG_20201027_154301_625.jpg

That's about it! I don't have a button now but the button is meant to be on the left side of the neckline and go through the hoop

IMG_20201027_154653_664.jpg

It's my first post in the community, thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hi @wolfofnostreet ! Thank you for posting through our Hive Community Page This article will be passed to other curation projects for more votes support. Keep up the good works!

It looks like a fiddly thing to make...I'd probably run the sewing machine over my thumb and regret trying to make something myself. Lol.

You've obviously got a lot of skill with sewing; How long has it taken you to learn and do you have to keep learning new things?

Sewing over my thumb is my worst nightmare

I've been sewing for two years and yes, I keep learning new things. It never ends.

Oh wow, only two years? That's not really a long time but it's clear you've learned a great deal.

Can I give you some advice? Something I learned after literally never sewing. Lol...

Don't sew over your thumb...It will probably hurt. :)

I once sewed over the nail of my left index finger, when I had longer nails... What I learned: yes, you really should only sew with the presser foot in the down position ;)

Well, I've never sewed but figured sewing ones thumb would be bad...You've just proved it although you got lucky and only sewed your nail.

Note to self: Presser foot in down position before seeing! ✅

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Great advice 😄

Thank you!

When I learned to sew I was told when making such small things: "Iron it to death!" - meaning, iron it till it stays like you want it ;)

Thats so true. Ironing makes it way easier

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @marleyn on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening