Utetheisa pulchella

Recently, my son and I went to visit my late husband's sister.

She lives in an apartment in a high-rise building (it was she who infected me with cactus mania!).
She lives on the first floor, which is a big bonus, since there are small plots of land on both sides of the apartment.

Her family received this apartment from the state, as she is a refugee due to the events in Cyprus in 1974.
In 1974, the Turks occupied about 37% of the island and her family was forced to leave their house with a plot of land...

Therefore, she was very happy that there was an opportunity to plant something!
She planted cacti and succulents, roses, jasmine, pelargonium, tangerine and lemon trees and many other plants.

And what does this story of mine have to do with the title of my post, you might think.
The fact is that this butterfly, which I saw for the first time, I photographed on its flowers!

Now look at this beauty:

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet
IMG_20221215_172333-40.jpg
When we returned home, I immediately began to look for information on the Internet about this butterfly, I looked at a lot of photos, but I could not find one like mine ☹️

But there are coincidences!
A few months ago I ordered (not in Cyprus) stamps and coins on the Internet and received them yesterday.
This order was brought to me by my friend's daughter, as this company does not deliver to Cyprus.
So, there was a stamp with this butterfly and its name!!
I took a photo now with my phone, sorry for the quality, weak light:
20230410_053305-БАБОЧКА-3-15.jpg

IMG_20221215_172325-65.jpg
And now I was able to find out from the Internet that it is called Utetheisa pulchella.
That in some countries it is listed in the Red Book, while in others it is quite common.
That they can migrate.
Butterflies are active both at night and during the day.

They feed on various herbaceous plants, Polyphages.
That its Caterpillars can accumulate alkaloids from fodder plants, due to which individuals of this species become inedible and poisonous to birds.
That in Southern Europe develops up to three generations a year.

Agree that this is still little information about her on the Internet!
I would like to know more!
IMG_20221215_172322-45.jpg

IMG_20221215_172316-30.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ahmetay ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

@poshtoken Thank you so much!

Настоящий праздник,встретить вживую (и опознать!) такую красавицу.
☘️ Если увижу (что вряд ли конечно!) -- теперь сразу вспомню имя. 🙏

За 40 с половиной лет проживания на Кипре, я её впервые встретила.
И в списках о насекомых и бабочках Кипра не нашла тоже, что странно.
Ведь не в единственном экземпляре она летает 😉

П.С. см.эл.п.

в эл.п. пока пусто ..🤓

странно.. я написала примерно 4-5 апреля

А вдруг,это свежий переселенец -- проник контрабандой с куколкой в земле... с каким нибудь там горшком?... контрабандист так сказать нелегальный иммигрант. и ты первая его обнаружила!

Всё может быть!
Хочешь сказать что я прошляпила вознаграждение? 🤣

We have those here!

Why didn't you post a photo?
I would like to see it, then I would see it for the first time with you 😉

I'll have to find one first 😁

I'll be waiting!

That's amazing that you had it on a stamp! Serendipity. I don't think we have them in the US, or at least I have never seen one, like @nikv.

I am surprised that I ordered this particular set of stamps a few months before the photo.

I read that this butterfly is found in Africa, Southern Europe, Central and South Asia east to Myanmar (Burma).

P.S. Yes, my intuition sometimes works, but I rarely listen to it, unfortunately.

Congratulations @ludmila.kyriakou! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 5000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 6000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very beautiful butterfly with nice patterns.

Thank you so much!

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated on behalf of Insects Of The World Community. It will be added to the weekly curation report. Keep up the good work.