Argentina - Postcards from my university turned into a Covid vaccination center. / Postales de mi universidad convertida en un centro de vacunación contra el Covid. ❌😵

in Pandemic Forum3 years ago

The last time I had gone to my university was in December 2019, when I finished my studies in Food Engineering. I remember that day was incredible, one of the best days of my life. A large part of my loved ones accompanied me and we hugged each other all the time. It is strange to think how at that moment no one imagined everything that was going to come next. Months after that, the university closed and was transformed into an isolation center for Covid sufferers. Now, it also works as a vaccination center.

La última vez que había ido a mi universidad fue en Diciembre del 2019, momento en que terminé mis estudios de Ingeniería en Alimentos. Recuerdo que ese día fue increíble, uno de los mejores días de mi vida. Me acompañaron gran parte de mis seres queridos y nos pasamos todo el tiempo a los abrazos. Es extraño pensar como en ese momento nadie se imaginaba todo lo que iba a venir después. Meses después de eso, la universidad cerró y se transformó en un centro de aislamiento para enfermos de Covid. Ahora, también funciona como vacunatorio.

Una sola foto grande (14).png

I often have "I can't believe we're experiencing a pandemic" moments. Many scenarios seem unreal to me, like people wearing masks on the streets and on public transport, the whole thing about social distancing, restrictions, etc. But seeing my university like this was another level of wonder: I went there every day for 6 years and nothing like this ever crossed my mind.

Con frecuencia tengo momentos de "no puedo creer que estemos viviendo una pandemia". Muchos escenarios me parecen irreales, como la gente usando mascarillas en las calles y en los transportes públicos, todo el asunto del distanciamiento social, las restricciones, etc. Pero ver a mi universidad así fue otro nivel de asombro: fui a diario allí durante 6 años y nunca se me cruzó por la cabeza algo como esto.

IMG_20210721_105934742.jpg

The whole operation is mounted in the gym of the university. There they have brought all the chairs from the classrooms to prepare a large space for people to wait their turn. When entering, you must first register with your first and last name.

Todo el operativo está montado en el gimnasio de la universidad. Allí han llevado todas las sillas de las aulas para preparar un gran espacio para que la gente espere su turno. Al ingresar, primero debes registrarte con tu nombre y tu apellido.

IMG_20210721_110017435.jpg
IMG_20210721_111956581.jpg

Then, you have to wait for them to call you to enter the vaccination posts. I went to accompany my cousin and they didn't give her any talk like the one they gave me when I went to get vaccinated elsewhere. Instead they gave him an explanatory brochure of all the necessary post-vaccination considerations.

Luego, toca esperar a que te llamen para ingresar a las postas de vacunación. Yo fui a acompañar a mi prima y a ella no le dieron ninguna charla como la que me dieron a mí cuando fui a vacunarme en otro lado. En su lugar le dieron un folleto explicativo de todas las consideraciones necesarias para luego de la vacunación.

IMG_20210721_111856232.jpg

While I was there waiting, I could not stop thinking about all the times I passed by this place and there was nothing, since to access the classrooms entering through this sector of the university is a shortcut. I guess it's part of the unpredictability of life itself.

Mientras estaba ahí esperando no podía dejar de pensar en todas las veces que pasé por este lugar y no había nada, ya que para acceder a las aulas ingresar por este sector de la universidad es un atajo. Supongo que es parte de lo impredecible de la vida misma.

IMG_20210721_112044207.jpg

Finally, after they give you the vaccine, you have to wait 20 minutes to check that it did not produce any strange reaction and that's it: my cousin was given Sputnik-V, I had been given AstraZeneca. In total, it took us less than an hour to do everything, really fast compared to what I had to wait a month and a half ago.

Por último, luego de que te dan la vacuna, debes esperar 20 minutos para comprobar que no te produjo ninguna reacción extraña y eso es todo: a mi prima le dieron Sputnik-V, a mí me habían dado AstraZeneca. En total tardamos menos de una hora en hacer todo, realmente rápido a comparación de lo que tuve que esperar yo hace un mes y medio atrás.

✅✅✅✅✅


The vaccination campaigns excite me as they give me hope that we are getting closer and closer to the end of all this. Hopefully we can get back to normal soon. Almost there ❤️.

Las campañas de vacunación me emocionan ya que me dan esperanzas de que cada vez estamos más cerca de que se termine todo esto. Esperemos que pronto podamos volver a la normalidad. Falta poco ❤️.

Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading ❤️.
¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer ❤️.


Source / Fuente

With love. / Con amor.
Lau 💕.

(The images were created by me, except where I specify the source. / Las imágenes fueron creadas por mí, salvo en las que especifico la fuente.).

Sort:  

Oh no. You may not be able to have children now. That's what you get for taking experimental therapies.