How Dried Flower Art HEALs MY SOUL

in Hive Diy3 years ago

It has been 5 months since I fell in love with dried flowers. Me of my 20s wouldn’t believe that someday I will find joy and happiness just by collecting and making dried flowers. I used to think it was a waste of my time. But now, it’s a way for me to appreciate the beauty of nature, my own space to be creative and being present, and express my soul visually.

Dried Flower Art.gif

It was at the end of April 2021 when I started to realise my life is a bit boring. Every day I woke up at 7:30 am and then prepared to go to work. I often came back home between 5 or 6 PM. I can feel my life lacks something.

After watching a Youtube video of a girl decorating a photo frame with dried flowers. I thought to myself, that might be something I could do. It looks fun and easy to make. So I started collecting wildflowers around my neighbourhood. I am always cautious about not taking too many as I might harm the plants.

pick flowers.jpg

When I was in high school, I once tried to make dried flowers. But I didn’t succeed. The flowers turned into mould and got rotten. So this time, I did some research online on how to dry the flowers properly. I learned the best time to collect flowers are between 10 to 12 pm when they are dry enough but not too dry out because of the sun to preserve the quality of the flowers. If I collect them too early, they might contain moisture from mist overnight which results in rotten later.

There are several ways to dry flowers at home but for me, I love putting the flowers I collect inside a book and put heavy items like my laptop or a box on top of it. I then have to wait for 2 weeks so the flowers can be dried completely.

pressed on book.jpg

At first, I was tempted to open the book and see what happened with my flowers. I wonder if it is ok doing this way? Are there any mistakes that might fail my experiment? If I open it now, I can fix it.

But a voice inside my head said: "you need to wait. If you open it now, it will ruin everything". And just like that, I realise I am learning to be patient. I actually enjoy waiting for my dried flowers. I know there is something exciting waiting for me. Just with that thought, it fills my day with joy.

After 2 weeks, there were some flowers turn out exactly as I thought but some weren’t. At first, I felt disappointed. Then I told myself: "Let’s try it anyway, see what I can do from it". And it turned out ok. I don’t want to brag but it looks pretty to me.

postcards.jpg
Dried flower cards

Thanks to this experiment, I have an opportunity to learn about myself. To understand what I want to do and how it helps me to live in the moment.

Thank you for reading my post today. If you have any questions about how to make dried flowers, let me know in the comment below.

Sort:  

Wow, this looks great :) We did this too at school (elementary school) but the results were definitely not as impressive as yours :) Interesting hobby, thanks for sharing it with us. My pleasure to feature your post in my latest upvote giveaway for more visibility and also add some support from TipU ;) Keep up the good work.

@tipu curate

Thank you for your great support @phortun. I really appreciate it.

I used to make dried flowers when I was small too. At that time, I didn't have the same feeling I have now for them. Might be I was just curious :) I am so grateful that it brings a great joy to my life now. Have a great day.

Your work reminded my childhood works @dora381. Those days I collected some flowers and beautiful plant's leaf and put into the book pages and closed them. Finally I prepared nice works to the classroom. Your works really impressive. Great work.

Thank you so much for your comment @madushanka. I didn't enjoy doing it when I was small but now it is my favorite things to do :)

Wow, so just simply pick the flowers at the best time of the day then put in the books with some extra pressure? I'm so surprise!!! I thought that you use chemical :P How come does it keep the color? I used to dry the phoenix flowers in my books as well but they always turned to dark brown :(

Yes, it is. Just make sure the flowers are dry enough before putting them inside the books :)

There is one thing to keep in mind though, different colours and textures of the flowers are the key here. I tend to pick up flowers with bright colours like dandelion or dark purple like the one you saw in my post (I made the birds).

Small flowers like daisies are great too. They are really pretty and last for long. I also love to dry Purple Hydrangeas (Cam Tu Cau Tim).

Flowers with thick petals are more difficult to dry with the "book" method so I haven't tried them.

!LUV 2 Dried Flowers
Nhớ hồi nhỏ hay làm ép vào vở :)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dora381, you've been given LUV from @trangbaby.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Uh hoi nho hay lam ma toi ko thich lam. Bay gio la me luon 😍

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 20

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for your support. Much appreciated.

👏🏻 Looks really beautiful. Very nice hobby!

Thank you :)