DIY Recycled Teapot Costume

in Hive Diylast month (edited)

For the last few weeks, my daughter's Pre-K class has been learning about nursery rhymes. They were each assigned a nursery rhyme to memorize and perform in front of the class. I was excited when she was assigned I'm a Little Teapot since there would be some really cute costume ideas. I've never made one of these cardboard costumes, so there was a lot of trial and error with creating the straps. I found out that the simple way of doing the arm straps was the best way. Check out how I made it below ⬇️


Materials:

  • Large piece of Cardboard
  • Pencil
  • Black marker
  • Paint (black, white, various colors)
  • Paintbrush
  • Scissors
  • Glue gun
  • Tape
  • Elastic rope
  • Measuring tape

I used a piece of cardboard from a large box and the measuring tape to measure my daughter to get the right proportions of the costume.


Step 1: I drew the teapot design in pencil first.


Step 2: I traced the pencil design with black marker.


Step 3: I cut out the teapot, leaving some space around the outline.


Step 4: I painted the teapot white while trying to avoid painting over the lines.


Step 5: I used black paint to create thicker lines.


Step 6: I used some old elastic headbands I never wear that I've had sitting around for years.

Step 7: I cut them into strings and hot glued two strings at the top. Then I taped them.


Step 8: I measured the straps on my daughter to find out where to glue the second piece of the elastic string to create the arm holes.

Step 9: I drew eyes, a mouth, and some decorative designs on the teapot with various colors of paint.

Now she's ready to perform!

Thanks for reading my DIY blog ✂️
❤️Laura

Sort:  

!HUESO

SORRY, you have exhausted all the uses you had for today, try again tomorrow.

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This is so beautiful and well drawn
The tea cup is so nice

Very cute and creative!