Creative process of sewing and embellishing an outfit I wore to a friend's party

in Hive Diy24 days ago

IMG_5248.jpeg

Hello, family and friends of the communities, I'm happy to show us the creative process of how I made this very outfit for myself for a friend's wedding yesterday.
It was a blissful moment, and I had myself, my sister, and my nephew here to attend the occasion.

IMG_5158.jpeg

Prior to the occasion, I had a little fever and couldn't make my sister's clothes, but a fellow seamstress helped me out with that.
Different designs of the African print fabric were selected, and while I purchased a cheaper one based on my budget, my sister picked this other expensive one that cost almost $8. Although her fabric is beautiful, I think that the amount was worth it.

IMG_5041.jpeg

Desiring to make something unique for myself, I worked on the patterns and the making process.
With a fabric that is not as beautiful as this, I have to work out my creativity to make the final outfit attractive.

When you create the perfect bodice for your outfits, the outcome is usually a perfectly fitting dress.
In a previous blog, I explained how to make a perfect bodice block for your clothes. I have made such a block and used it to cut my fabric here.

IMG_4796.jpeg

IMG_4812-1.jpeg

I enjoyed the process of sticking the dress together. But most of the creativity that adds the finishing touch of embellishment is the aspect I often find a bit difficult.

Screenshot_20240425-081230.jpg

Not wanting to spend too much money since embellishment items are already expensive, I have thought about the various ways I can use to embellish these clothes. A designer's outfits should come out best on such occasions so that he can sell out his business.

I have some beads, the pearl machine, the tulle net, and other items at home.

IMG_20240428_162426_143.jpg

IMG_20240428_162241_771.jpg

I added some lace trim to the neckline of the blouse, then cut some 2" of my tulle net here.

IMG_5156.jpeg

Next, I sewed the tulle net across the dress, starting from the waist line down to the hem of the dress.
I couldn't do any bead work on the dress because of the various colors on the fabric.

IMG_20240428_162357_277.jpg

IMG_20240428_162320_062.jpg

In order to add some more touch of elegance, I did a DIY process for a hairdress using the rest of the fabrics and some satin I had at home. That one came out lovely, and I liked the outcome.

Screenshot_20240428-165040.jpg


Screenshot_20240428-165010.jpg


IMG_5203-1.jpeg

After everything was done, it was time to enjoy some party time with the couple here. We started with the marriage rite in the Catholic church, where the priest joined the union.

Screenshot_20240428-154945.jpg

1714453914900.jpg

After the church ceremony, there were a lot of people waiting to take pictures with the couple, but because of the hot weather, I had to excuse myself. I got a lot of comments about my outfits, even though I wish to add some flesh like my sister, who has a larger physique. That would at least close up the collarbone, but being skinny can be beautiful too. I only need some necklaces to complement my outfits.
Next time, I will have to consider making some necklaces of beadwork or some material that I could wear with my outfits.

IMG_5250.jpeg

My nephew was also dressed in matching outfits, like his mom, sewn by a male fashion designer on our street.

IMG_5034-1.jpeg

Although I didn't get a colorful fabric, I was happy that the little details I added to the clothes made them stand out. In this manner, we continue to work and explore our creative skills.

IMG_5227.jpeg

On a final note, I wish my dearest a beautiful home and thank you all for visiting my blog.

All images are mine.

Sort:  

Tailors style their clothes every day, I love the material I love the color and the white that was added for the design and you know the best part, it looks good on you hope you didn't outshine everyone there 😊

We all appeared great.
I was actually eyeing my sisters outfits and had ideas rolling in my head of what to do with it.
Tailors are never satisfied with fabrics.

 23 days ago