How to Mount a TV Without a Spirit Level

in Hive Diy2 months ago

I needed to mount a television to the wall, but I didn't have a very important tool to monitor its straightness to the ground—a spirit level. And so I thought to improvise with a spirit level mobile app I found. Its performance did the trick, and here's how you can use it too.

1721482899763.jpg

To mount a TV to a wall, you need a wall bracket. And it is that wall bracket you actually work on and then fix TV to it. Some wall brackets come with a sprit level tube to make installing them simple. The one I had had nothing like that. In fact, it has two components to make up the rack, making it even harder to install.

1721483374465.jpg

1721483252354.jpg

I started by marking where I would like the rack to be on the wall with a pencil. From a single point where one of the screws would go, I aligned a long ruler on it and also rested it on the wall. Then I placed my phone on the ruler with the spirit level app open, adjusted the ruler till it was level with the ground, and drew a line across.

The line I drew across is where I'll drill the next holes for the rest of the screws for the part of the rack. I then repeated the same process for the holes on the other part of the rack.

IMG_20240720_122640.jpgIMG_20240720_122549.jpgIMG_20240720_122652.jpg

IMG_20240720_122745.jpg

I placed the rack on the TV and took the dimensions for the positions of the screw holes and transferred them to the lines on the wall. And then I began drilling the holes.

I did not have a drill gun, so I had to improvise to create holes for the screw anchors. I started by creating small holes with small nails and then boring those holes with a much larger nail. When I was finished, I fit the anchors gently with a hammer.

1721482733045.jpg

1721482671259.jpg

1721482489024.jpg

IMG_20240720_125225.jpg

👆🏽screw anchors...

One of the anchors couldn't go in as the many retries caused it to bend. The rack would still hold the TV anyway.

While I was boring the holes, I kept checking the spirit level on my phone to ensure that the entire rack would still be perfectly level with the ground. When I was done, I put the TV on it to complete its mounting. The result, however, was not perfect.

It may not be conspicuous to other people, but I could see that the TV was slightly tilted. I guess that the shift must have happened when I was boring the holes, which could have been avoided with a drill gun and the right drill bits.

1721482439425.jpg

1721482310514.jpg

1721483617501 (1).jpg

Nevertheless, the spirit level app performed well, and I may not have been able to do the job right without it. I eventually found that we actually had the real thing somewhere in the house, but I think I would have gotten the same results anyway since I didn't have a drill gun. Now I think I really need to get myself a drill gun for this kind of situation. I surely cannot find a drill gun app.


All images belong to me

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Wow, a spirit level app, please pinch me.

Nice set up Jay👍

😁🤓

Thank you, Becky!

You are welcome

Wow, this is impressive! Keep up the great works buddy. Cheers !

Thank you! ⚡

Me llamo mucho la atención en como usaste tu dispositivo móvil para hacer este trabajo, ciertamente mi teléfono los tiene, y cuando necesito una herramienta de estas se me olvida que mi teléfono lo tiene, excelente trabajo

I was very impressed with how you used your mobile device to do this job, certainly my phone has them, and when I need a tool like this I forget that my phone has it, excellent job.

Escrito por lionsaturbix / Written by lionsaturbix

¡¡¡Buen trabajo!!! Gracias por publicar tu excelente contenido en Hive Diy.

Great job!!! Thanks for posting your excellent content on Hive Diy.

I just had to find a solution somehow, and I am glad that I did. Thank you! @lionsaturbix

Excellent work my friend, The good thing about smartphones is the number of uses we can give them, using that app has made your work easier in a versatile and intelligent way.Good job. Greetings