My akwete Hand weaving

in Hive Diy17 days ago

Good morning Hivers,
Here in my country Nigeria,there are different types of cultures and tribes which have their own traditions and crafts,in some states they do tie-dye as a generational craft and some do cane weaving and so many others but the weaving I'm posting about today is done in two tribes which is the Igbo and the Yoruba.
The Igbo's call theirs AKWETE while the yoruba's call theirs ASOKE.

I am igbo so practically i call mine akwete too, this weaving process takes a lot of dedication and strength to do

Here i was just at the beginning stage and i was already tired,in my head i was like, there's no way I'm finishing this stuff at all but because it was my exam piece i had to put more effort (when i was in school,we have a weaving course so you have to weave your way to graduating 😁😁).
I was making a lot of mistakes cause I just learned how to weave in school, I'm not from a village that passes down the gift of weaving to their children but that wasn't the story my instructor wanted to hear, she scolded me severally, she even hit me sometimes but what could i do than take corrections.


I can't explain the weaving process here cause it's really long and hard to understand if you dont have any idea about it

At a point I got backache because of the strength it takes to beat the cloth while weaving,its the strength you use to beat it that determines how strong your fabric will be and the stronger it is the higher your grade,also it lasts longer

When i got to this stage I felt so relieved cause i finally got to the stage where i can cut out the fabric from the loom after 2weeks and i was actually fast compared to my colleagues even though they finished before me cause they started earlier than i did


And Tada🎉!!!
I finished,i was so happy..lol 😆

And that's me posing with my handiwork ☺️☺️😊
But I didn't get to keep the fabric cause the rule in my department was (exam works are meant for the department and now i think that's a really lame rule cause why do you get to keep my sweat )
Anyway that's it about my akwete weaving experience 🙏☺️
Thanks for reading 😀

Sort:  

Congratulations @praise-arts! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

☺️☺️☺️

👍👍👍

☺️☺️

Congratulations, it was not easy, but you did it and it is beautiful.👏 ❤️

I really appreciate your comments dear
Thank you thank you 😊😊🙏

Excelente textil praise un abrazote amo a nigeria

muchas gracias ☺️
También me encanta el español.

It's beautiful, @praise-arts ❤️ You're really talented!

I appreciate @marlyncabrera ☺️☺️
Thanks for your up vote it means a lot to me ☺️🙏🙏