You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hive Network - and Ecency! - can go FUCK itself

in Hive Diy2 years ago

Nonsense. No functional social network or even blogging platform with a social component that wants to grow will shoot itself in the foot like this. After two, three years, Hive still has only 1500 active users per day. The abandonment rate is sky high. There are far better ways to keep spam off the site, than to treat every newbie as a spammer by default.

Your reputation score is fairly high at 60+, and as such you can post and comment all day long. But for newbies just starting out, and eager to start blogging and commenting, after one or two they're screwed all week long. So they go back to Facebook, and never return. That directly affects the value of the Hive dollar, because nobody wants it. You must admit, the value would have been much higher if people actually could use the site from the get-go.

So many of my posts that were time-sensitive I had to go and post on one of my other blogs, after getting 'insufficient resource credits' here. Seriously, as fired up as I was about Hive before, I cannot recommend it in good conscience to people anymore. It's simply not worth it, there's new blockchains like TON that grows at 8% every week, while Hive appeared to have stagnated almost.

I wanted to be loyal to Hive, and I do love the Ecency app, but I want to do serious blogging, and Hive just does not meet the requirements for any serious blogger.