Using a circular saw for the first time

in Hive Diy4 months ago

Screenshot 2024-02-03 at 22.48.58.png

Yesterday, after some online browsing for the past weeks, I decided to purchase a circular saw and use it for the first time to build a small platform with wheels to move the power generator. I have been purchasing some tools to use for the Portugal properties renovation and wood tooling was still missing so I decided to go to the store and get a circular saw.

image.png

I had to set the saw disc in the machine measure the length I needed and use a long level as a guide fixing it to the wood board with two clamps. I adjusted the saw height to get it just slightly below the wood height and started cutting. It was a pretty easy job but will need some practice as the measure was slightly shorter than what I had measured. I decided to have a big margin just in case so there was no problem at all, but will need to practice some more to make sure I get the correct sizes when I do a new project.

image.png

I had a pack of 4 wheels to add but ended up having to go to the store as the screws I had were too big and they would have crossed all the wood and reached the other side.

1000009712.jpg

After getting shorter ones, this is how the wheels ended up.

1000009716.jpg

Finally, I loaded the power generator into the platform to feel how easy it was to move around.

1000009717.jpg

It was a pretty easy job and only one cut with the saw but I could already feel how easy it is to use it, although you need to be careful with this tool. I plan to do a few things in Portugal once I go there again next month so testing it home first was a great decision.