Amidst The Setbacks.

in Hive Diy29 days ago

Perfection is something we all strive to attain but is this even possible? And if possible, can the journey ever be an easy one? Definitely not.

In January 2023, I decided to summon up enough courage to try out something new; crocheting. Before then, I never really paid attention to knitting, crocheting or needlework crafts in general, until a friend introduced me to the art.

Being the inquisitive and determined young lady that I am, I decided to give it my all and eventually see where it all leads. It is worthy to note that I had no crochet tutor solely because I wanted to do it myself.

My very first crochet project was a blue head warmer and as you would expect, it turned out terrible. I knew nothing about measurements or basic progression. I knew the head warmer was terrible but I wasn't ready to give up.

Non-relenting, I forged ahead to the second project–a sleeveless mesh crop top–and it came out worse than the first. Why?

First of all, I lost count of my stitches every single time. This meant that I either made an increase or a decrease each time, leading to a non-proportional pattern.


Second, I didn't know a lot about alignment, especially around the arm holes and the neck. After the project, I realized that one arm hole was extremely small and the other arm hole was moderate. This alone could create so much discomfort because I cannot imagine wearing a dress with uncomfortable arm holes.

The third thing I remember doing wrongly was joining the two different panels of the project. For the project, I worked on the front panel and on the back panel separately. This was to ensure evenness of the project ( which I still didn't attain at the end of the day).

After I finished with both panels, I immediately started joining the ends without working around the edges on the project. Consequently, this led to me missing stitches and joining haphazardly. If one looks closely at the sides of the mesh crochet crop top, they would observe the haphazard coupling.

With that, I came to the end of the project and after wearing it for pictures, I never got myself to wear it again. At this point, I almost concluded that crocheting was not for me and that I was better off counting grains of rice instead but the support and corrections I got after sharing the project with the Hive community pummeled me to keep striving.

Many were astonished at how I was able to complete the project with no form of guidance or physical tutor. They urged me to keep going and I'm glad I listened to them.

Eventually, I moved on to the next project and the next. With every concluded project, I learnt a thing or two. I cannot count the number of times I had to loosen a project and start from scratch but the good thing is that I never repeated the same mistake twice. Also, I never hesitated to ask for help or guidance when necessary.

The Journey so Far

I wouldn't exactly say that I have become a crochet wizard but I know for sure that my crochet crafts skills and techniques have improved in comparison to when I began. This is a form of perfection in itself (progress).

Also, I noticed that a project I would use three to seven days to complete when I was still a rookie can be completed in a day or better still, hours. It is basically all about consistency, patience and perseverance especially for people who are self trained just like myself.

This only goes to show that every mistake can either turn into a new design or every mistake has a pending lesson to be learnt. However, when we are doing the things we enjoy doing, we would keep persevering amidst the turbulence and setbacks:)


All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.


This post was solely inspired by the #mayinleo prompt for day 7. Here is a link to the monthly prompts. Do not hesitate to hop in and share your thoughts.


Love🤍

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Wao! You are doing well in the journey dear
It looks great
I remember also wanting to kneat when I was growing up
This is nice

It's a passion one can pick up at any point in time😀.

!LUV

jesus-son, wongi sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Yea, true

Sometimes when you achieve things for yourself it makes you feel better, because it was achieved with a lot of effort even if the results were not what you wanted, but do not get discouraged, you can keep practicing and improve every day.

Exactly. Practice makes perfection.

!LUV

Wow, see how you began and see where you are now. Glad you didn't give up initially when you felt you weren't getting it all right
Babe..u are now crotchet wizard oo 😂
No doubt
I commot cap for you guys

Including @abenad 🏃🏃🏃

#dreemerforlife

Yeso, abenad is one amazing crocheter I met on Hive and we still have a pending collaboration. @abenad.....?🌝🌝😎

Yes, we do🥰
Let’s start planning 🥹

We should 😌🙃

Alright

Aww thank you🥰

I've seen some of your projects and I must say that you've done well in just one year, that's a big kudos. Keep it up.

#dreemerforlife

Thank you so much @luchyl 😊

Congratulations @wongi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 28000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 29000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day