Thought I was getting it right!!!

in Hive Diylast month

I've engaged in so many crochet projects that have gone wrong, the outcome of some would make me wonder if I was the person that started it "or if there is something people were not telling me" or the ones that would take me weeks to complete cause the outcome wasn't giving what I want then I'd have to loosen everything and start all over from the scratch, most times I'd feel like giving up on the projects but then the stories of our great legends that we celebrate till date for not giving up on what they believed could work I was now seeing myself as being in that category but I did give up on some though so "I'm partially in that category" not fully.

I've given up on a lot of projects I was working on because they didn't come out the way I wanted or should I use the real words "it went wrong" time to share my story, so early part of this year I excitedly went to visit my aunty and we are having a nice time till she decides to go through my phone and was seeing my crochet projects the ones I've completed and the ones that are yet to be completed, so she developed an interest in it and asked me to make her daughter a mini bag she can be taking to church.

So she described what she wanted for her daughter and I, on the other hand, went to YouTube and sourced for something similar to the description my aunty gave, I saw something unique and fit for a little princess I decided to go with the one I've seen, I downloaded the video and went to the market looked for the color of yarns she wanted which was "green" luckily I found the exact shade of green she wanted, bought three went back to the house and started the journey of the mini bag.

Before I started I ensured to watch the video several times, the different patterns involved the number of rows and when to join the edges. So I started my journey of making this mini bag, after a while I noticed my bag was looking different from the one in the video, I was now wondering about the magic I'd performed that was making my bag look weird, to avoid stories I loosen everything I've made and started from the scratch again, my second attempt was giving me the same outcome.

Not like I wasn't following the process from the video I was, I followed every process and every pattern but Why was my bag looking like it was sick, that's the big question I kept asking myself, so I started my third attempt again from the beginning, this time around I was being very conscious of every step, the patterns I make, then thought I was finally done and it was time to join the edges then I realize the edges wasn't straight, one part was looking longer than the other. At this point, I was tired of repeating it even when the thoughts of our great legends stepped in, I wasn't moved to proceed so I stopped there.

Then after a few minutes of telling myself not to continue the project, I picked it up and started all over again with the high hopes of getting it right this time, finally, I was done with the mini bag but the finished look was giving "What I ordered vs what I got" when my aunt called me and asked if I was done making the bag, in order not to disappoint her with the outcome of the bag by seeing it, I told her I haven't had a chance to do it and I was gonna create time to make the bag for her daughter.

All images are mine and were gotten from a post I made here.

This is my entry to the May Inleo monthly prompt day 7, you can be a part of it by clicking on the Link and say no to writer's block.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Yeah I remember this particular one so well.
But I’m glad you’ve been doing better

Glad you remember it, but I'm yet to complete it though

Oh okay, but your subsequent projects have been nice

Yeah, it's been nice

lol what i ordered vs what i get, really funny. maybe you really miss a step while making the bag but if you know the pattern you wish to follow, you can make it your own way, not compulsory what you saw, it will be your own creativity

I didn't know that I could actually make my own without following every pattern, well I'm gonna try this method!!

Thanks for the nice comment.

 last month  

Hi Tari, I can really suck at knitting so I admire you. Good thing that like me we learn from the mistakes of the situation. Any inexperienced person will say they see nothing wrong with the project but we know we did it wrong.
in the initiative it said that you should invite a friend to participate in the post.

Yeah, inexperienced people will always see perfection in everything..

Oh, my bad, I didn't get that properly, I'd do it better next time by inviting someone.

Eyaaa!
What I ordered Vs what I got😂, thank God you didn't deliver it.
But you would have made your own design anyway🤔.
I used to do a lot of crocheting, but not big designs.

Abi I would try to make my own designs to see what I would come up with..
Thanks for the nice comment!!!