Just Showin' off my Wood - Volume 1 - White Oak

White Oak


White Oak is one of the most recognizable species of oak, in my opinion. The shaggy bark, three lobed leaves and consistent, robust growth patterns are unmistakable. The Americas were built with this tree because it is VERY strong wood that resists rot as long as it can dry easily after getting wet. Not to mention the acorns attract deer and squirrels for those that enjoy wild game.

Growth is pretty fast for a hardwood tree, and they can get really big. Some of the most beautiful wood I've ever seen has come from burls of white oak.

Although oak is very strong wood, it is unsuitable for some applications. Cutting boards shouldn't be made from this wood because it is too porous and will trap bacteria and food particles deep within the wood harboring potential infections or food poisoning. Save this wood for some table legs or larger projects like cabinets and flooring. Bookshelves and picture frames are also quite beautiful, and with the porosity of the wood, staining the oak is very easy.


The Goods

Alright, here's the pictures you pervs 😁😝 It's just a tree...

Straight Grain White Oak

straight_grain_white_oak.jpg

Complex Flake White Oak

complex_flake_white_oak.JPG

HA! I got you! Only two pictures, what a rip, am-i-right? Seriously though, I didn't have good pictures of my best pieces, and I only recently got a handle on wood storage (in reality, I'll never win this battle, I know I'm not the only one, stop judging). Once I get the lighting a little better, I'll dig some of my "special" boards out and show off. Thanks for checking me out!

Also, if you were wondering where the "work" was in this "woodworking" post, I figured I'd actually do a couple of series, one to highlight some of my favorite materials to work with and the other to show projects that I'm either working on, or have been completed. I don't have a link just yet, but the next post will have one to my collection of projects.



Ask questions, message me if you would like. Keep in mind, I'm just a monkey that found some power tools, so the value I can provide might be somewhat disappointing, but I'll do my best to make it entertaining!