WKRP (in Cincinnati)


(courtesy wikipedia)

If you have never before watched WKRP in Cincinnati you are truly missing a gem of a show. WKRP was produced in the late 1970's, early 1980's and, though there are some references to issues at the time, the show has aged really, really well. Frankly, it is still as relevant today as it was back then, and it is just as funny as it was back then. Every time I watch any of 88 episodes I always laugh and laugh and laugh, even though I know most of what is about to happen.

For those who are not familiar with WKRP, then gist of the plot is that a successful radio "Program Manager" accepts a job with a backward radio station in Cincinnati which uses the call letters WKRP. The station is run by a series of misfits with only the program manager being "the straight guy." There are some episodes on youtube. They're seriously worth checking out.

The series pilot explains that the radio station is down on it's luck, plays elevator and classical music to an old audience, and has a very small audience at that. It is a perennial money-loser. The new program manager - Andy Travis - immediately changes the format of the station to rock-and-roll, and hijinks ensue.

Rock-and-roll is an overarching theme throughout the show, both from a story and production standpoint. Production wise, the show was recorded on video tape and not film because it was cheaper to licence the songs they wanted for video tape. This had two interesting side effects:

  1. It was incredibly difficult to reformat and up-grade the shows to HD for later DVD purposes.
  2. When the licences to use the songs expired, the show had to be edited to use other songs. This caused a huge backlash by fans who refused to buy the DVD's with the bogus songs.

The show had a very up beat, rock-themed end-song that played at the end of the show. I remember, as a youngster, trying to discern the lyrics to it. I never could, but was never discouraged because, frankly, there were a lot of up beat, rock-themed songs that I couldn't discern all the lyrics too. I thought nothing of it.

Well.

A few days ago I came to possess the entire series and started binging. You know, I still couldn't understand the lyrics. Now, however, in the 21st century, I have the support of Google with which to find information that was previously unavailable. And, lo, Google did not disappoint.

Here is a Youtube video with the lyrics superimposed. This is what I want you to do: listen to it once with your eyes closed, or looking away, and see what you hear. Then watch it a second time and see how close you were.

Not too close, were you?

"WTH?" Yes, I think I said the same thing.

What I Learned Today. Thanks to Google, I learned that these nonsense lyrics were done on purpose by the song's writer and originally intended to be a placeholder so the producer would know what the song would sound like. It turns out that the producer liked the nonsense lyrics so much that he kept them; not only did it fit the nonsense theme of the show, but the network announcer would be speaking over the song, so no one would be really listening to it anyway.

Except for me, it would seem, and at least a few others.


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Sometimes photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

Creator of What I Learned Today Hive community: https://peakd.com/c/hive-131257/created


Blind Skeleton

Online Radio: https://victorwiebe.com/radio_wiebe
Friday Night Concert: 6:00pm EST

Blind Skeleton.jpeg

Sort:  

The opening theme song is still played on Sirius XM's Yacht Rock.

Here's a nice video to go along with the show.

I haven't seen this clip before. Thank you! I've not seen this one before. I think it's really interesting to hear how studio executives were sending them goods. Particularly interesting how the actors were allowed to choose their own music. Too neat!

!LUV !WINE !BEER !PIZZA


Congratulations, @deanlogic You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @wwwiebe.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.300


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Who could forget that show? Even if you didn't watch it the first time around, it never gets old. Bingo! There are a few shows like that and I can remember my parents calling them nonsense. Ha! Little did they know they were right, especially about the lyrics of the end song.

One should always listen to the parents.

I haven't thought about this show in a long time, but, thanks to you, I cannot get those lyrics out of my head. :)

You're welcome. 😁 I'm halfway through the first season right now. I'm having to keep myself from watching it when I should be working.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@deanlogic(1/5) tipped @wwwiebe (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.